svhs question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2006, 09:44 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
svhs question

Good evening,

I use an invidia card that allows two monitors (which I use) and an svhs plug as well.
I found the color on my two monitors ooks good but when it is on my 54 in projector tv the colors are definitely not as strong.
For color correction I bought a 20 inch color tv and connected my svhs to computer and the tv.
I have not been able to get the image on the tv cor doing color correction work.

any ideas?? I am using premiere pro and other adober software. My computer is a 2.8 gh pent 4 with xp pro, an invidea 6200 g force graphics card.

Am I not able to run all three at once??

All help is greatly appreciated.

dale
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2006, 06:34 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can't run all 3 off the Nvidia card at once.

The best way to do things is to hook up your computer to your DV camera (firewire) to your TV.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2006, 08:40 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
color correction ?

Glenn,

Thanks!! I guess that about ends the problem of using svhs.

What is the plug for then??? if you only run one monitor???

How does one then make accurate color correction in post if one is using two flat screens one vega and one dvi ????



dale
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2006, 10:37 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Dale,

You can run a maximum of two monitors off your Nvidia card. It'll be a combination of DVI, VGA, and S-video.
You can't run 3. Only on some of the Matrox cards you can do that... but it isn't necessarily a good thing, because the video levels and other aspects may be off.

2- For accurate color for video, a broadcast monitor would be the best. Hook that up via firewire. In some cases, you would hook up the monitor with SDI or component if your hardware uses that (i.e. decklink, AJA, avid, etc.)... but don't worry about that. Firewire is your best bet.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network