What's the difference between windows xp home and pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2006, 09:48 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
What's the difference between windows xp home and pro?

Hi all, I am going to be getting an intel mac and run windows on it for a bit of After Effects work until it is released in universal binary. Do I gain any advantage by using pro vs home edition? I won't be connected to the net at all or any servers or anything if that helps. TIA Nate
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."

Last edited by Nate Schmidt; May 2nd, 2006 at 02:03 PM.
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 12:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
No. There would be no advantage. Pro just has more bells and whistles, but none of them affect processor behavior.

DJ
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 02:03 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
thanks, that saves me some un-needed $$$ ;-)
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 02:26 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
Home only supports a single processor. Pro supports two regardless of the number of cores.

So while a Dual Core processor will work in XP Home, it won't be taking advantage of the the additional thread and will see it as a single core.

Which leads me to my point, if your going after a AE machine, then dual processor or at least a dual core will help you out along the way..:)
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 11:49 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
[QUOTE=Pat Sherman]So while a Dual Core processor will work in XP Home, it won't be taking advantage of the the additional thread and will see it as a single core.
QUOTE]
I a sure that this is not true. It still does not support dual Xeons, but I do believe dual cores are support (single instance, not dual processor dual core like with Opteron or Xeon). And, the scheduler will support multiple treads and can schedule them. Otherwise, no one would see any performance differences with Hyper-Threading or dual cores. That would have been a huge stick that everyone would know about.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2006, 10:07 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
Maybe I wasn't quite clear enough. My apologies.


Purchasing XP PRO will give you much better HT and Dual Core performance support. PRO is more stable and less prone to BSOD's but that's nothing new.

XP Home was never intended for SMP support even in the early betas up to RC2 Home still had zero support for any SMP processing rather dual core or dual processor.

According to Microsoft dual cores and HT will work with Home SP2, but is extremely limited in the HT and SMP scale, compared to PRO. Pro was built from the beginning for SMP support and it was later added to home. So they left out routines and optimizations. The goal of the add was too not crash or fail should the unsuspecting user plug a dual core into a XP Home machine.

In the end, usually the hardcore gamers and others who grave outstanding benchmarks will or would notice the performance differences between PRO and HOME while the average Joe may not.
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2006, 12:28 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Perez Zeledon, Costa Rica
Posts: 37
XP Media center edition 2005

Hi,
I am considering buying a Sony Vaio FE550G notebook for editing when not at home. It is a dual processor and comes with XP home edition.
Will this OS take advantage of dual processor with Vegas?
Do you think I am going the right way with this computer?
Thanks
Mike
Mike Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2006, 11:07 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
I can't speak for Vegas. But you will want to make sure before you buy that it will have the speed and setup for use with Vegas. As for the Dual Core Home/Pro discussion. I think you'll be fine with home..
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network