AE not recognizing all RAM at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 21st, 2006, 09:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 100
AE not recognizing all RAM

I have 3 gigs of RAM, but they are:
2 x 512
2 x 1gig

My computer can handle 4 gigs of RAM and the computer shows that it is recognizing 3 gigs of my RAM. But AE is only recognizing 2 gigs. Anyone know why? Or how to fix it?
Jeff Cottrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 07:47 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 392
After Effects is limited to 3 Gb on 32 bit Windows XP and to achieve that you must configure Windows properly, otherwise its 2 Gb. 4 Gb on a 64 bit system.

Jim
Jim Montgomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 10:46 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Montgomery
to achieve that you must configure Windows properly, otherwise its 2 Gb. 4 Gb on a 64 bit system.

What does it mean "configure Windows properly"?
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 12:23 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 392
Can't quite remember how or where I did it but you have to put in a "switch" on one of the lines in a boot file. Search the Microsoft site, thats where I found it.

Jim
Jim Montgomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 01:36 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Montgomery
Can't quite remember how or where I did it but you have to put in a "switch" on one of the lines in a boot file. Search the Microsoft site, thats where I found it.
Do you remember how that split is made? That is how Windows splits the memory?
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2006, 02:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vero Beach
Posts: 392
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system...AE/PAEmem.mspx

Here is the link

Jim
Jim Montgomery is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network