DIY PC assembly article with dual-core at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 23rd, 2006, 12:29 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
DIY PC assembly article with dual-core

The people from Videoguys did a remarkable job assembling two systems using dual-core processors.

http://www.videoguys.com/DIY4.html

Even if the tests seem not to be ready yet, and the article sounds like an advance, I doubt there will be much change.

Unfortunately for me, an Avid Xpress user, there doesn't seem to be much of a future in dual-core, as there are problems that are hard to solve. Also hyperthreading seems to be a problem for Avid.

The DIY article warns on this problem, but IMO this warning should be placed at the beginning of the page, with large block letters.

I wonder if Avid will do something to solve this incompatibility, as the computer future does seem to be dual-core.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 01:29 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
A small correction: the Videoguys article does mention that they used Avid Xpress Pro Powerpack and also did a multi-cam project with it, apparently with no problems.

So maybe they should comment something more about dual-core systems being or not suitable specifically with that program. Fallen myths are something to look for too.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 12:35 PM   #3
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
great line about myths.

Here's the deal:
Avid won't come out and recommend dual-core machines because they don't want the added tech support. No other reason for it. Eventually they'll test and certify an HP dual-core system and then they'll have to add support for dual-core processors.

We ran Xpress pro just fine on both dual-core machines.

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 12:46 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I have been using AMD dual core 3800+ and trying to judge it against others just by hearing the "scuttle butt" on this forum. I had the impression that I was able to run faster in Premeire pro than other who seemed to be complaining about speed in their Intel chips, so the results here do not surprise me. I am running this on a pedestrian motherboard, with 2 gigs memory, and a PCI express video card with 256 mgs of memor. Using it to work with native HDV editing in Premiere Pro has been relatively pain free. About like what I dealt with in early years of regular DV editing.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2006, 01:30 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
A friend of mine was the one who told me about being able to use AMD with Avid.

And I went ahead and edited two 50-minute documentaries with it, having absolutely no problem.

My mobo back then was a Gigabyte with a XP3000 socket-A. Unfortunately that setup stopped working after those jobs, due to excessive heat on the CPU. Heat seems to be serious problem in socket-A chips. That's a battle I lost.

So I went after a better option, which were socket 754 AMDs, particularly because all 939-compatible mobos are non-AGP video and I didn't want to go PCI-e just yet. The 754s (and 939s) seem to work much cooler than the As too.

In my case I think I will have to pick a different CPU for my setup though, as the Sempron 64 3000+ I bought seems to have too small a cache: 128Kb. Compared to the higher 512Kb on the older CPU should explain some staggerings I am having now on the Avid's vertical blue line.

In any case I should be moving to 512Kb (or even 1Mb if I can find it) cache Athlon 64 types.

As I see it this should precede my jump to a dual-core system, probably AMD too, so that's why I was very much interested in the above article.

This relationship between L2 cache and Avid was never mentioned anywhere, and it probably is not a myth.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network