Ram and Adobe speed ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2003, 05:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 70
Ram and Adobe speed ?

I have 512 m of ram.
Will getting more ram speed up Adobe After effects or Premiere rendering.
I have a 1.9 G CPU
__________________
Thanks for your help everyone.
Thomas Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2003, 06:36 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 245
That should work fine. RAM always helps if you can afford it. Just remember to close your Timeline and Composition window before you render. I read somewhere that those two things will slow down your rendering alittle.

Rob
Robert Poulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2003, 03:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
I have a gig of RDRAM, and Premiere seems to love having the extra ram on hand. Also I have a 2.4 gigahertz p4.
Bryan Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2003, 07:27 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 82
I've got dual 2.0 GHz CPUs and 1.5Gig Ram and AE often uses 60% of the available ~1.5Gig. I don't know if the processor(s) are limiting or not, but when graphed the CPU usage clips at 100% only occasionally, so I don't think so.

Thus I think extra RAM would help you, assuming your CPU isn't the limiting factor.
__________________
DVX100A/AT4071a/Vegas/After Effects
Dual 2GHz Xeon PC
Stuart Kupinsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2003, 04:58 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark
Posts: 133
Just be aware that Windows ME, Win98 and downwards have a limit of 512 MB RAM. You can install more, but it will not be used correctly, and make the system highly unstable.

Use Win 2000 or XP with more than 512 MB.

Hans Henrik
Hans Henrik Bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2003, 05:46 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 27
How much difference does a video card make? Is its only affect the screen resolution that you are viewing? Looking at getting a dual Xeon system but could not find one with an AGP slot and most of the good video cards seem to require AGP.
__________________
Gary A. Bushey
GaryBushey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2003, 07:32 AM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
In my experience Adobe products are happiest with a gig of ram or more. However, they usually don't use more than 1 gig. If you have more it will allow you to have more programs and windows open at the same tim.

I have found video cards have very little effect on rendering times for most video. Some 3D work may benefit, but not my area of expertise.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network