How to Turn DV 1.5 aspect ratio to 1.0 multimedia ratio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2003, 03:44 AM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How to Turn DV 1.5 aspect ratio to 1.0 multimedia ratio

I tried to import the footage via firewire as 1.0 aspect ratio and stayed 1.0 in NEL but somehow I get footage that is 1.5 aspect ratio anyway. Can someone please give me a instruction as to how to turn dv footage into 1.0 ratio so i can webbed the footage into 320x240 instead of 360x240.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2003, 06:36 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
How to Turn DV 1.5 aspect ratio to 1.0 multimedia

DV (NTSC) has a 0.9 pixel aspect ratio (non-square pixels). Don't try to change that in capture. You can set your export frame size for multimedia in the encoding parameters you choose once you're ready to compress a project.
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2003, 10:32 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am confused

I am so confused with this .9 aspect ratio thing. The footage shot in DV is 3:2 ratio where regular NTSC is 4:3. But people says it's good to turn my video into DV 3:2 ratio to 4:3. But when I do that, people in the video looks squished. Am I suppose not to change it from .9 to 1.0?

Maybe I got so used to watching .9, 3:2 video on computer monitor that correct ratio is now looking funny?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2003, 06:16 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If you incorporate the 0.9 pixel aspect in the resolution of the DV
you will get a 4:3 frame aspect, so it is correct. For output to TV
you should not change your pixel aspect (or frame aspect/size)!

All NLE's know that the aspect is 0.9 (or 1.067 for PAL) and will
(if I'm not mistaken) show the footage correctly. If you want to
output to a digital file that does not understand aspect ratio
(MPEG will for example) you can resample the resolution to 640
(or 648) x 480. That should give you correct aspect on a computer
screen.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2003, 09:45 AM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : All NLE's know that the aspect is 0.9 (or 1.067 for PAL) and will (if I'm not mistaken) show the footage correctly. If you want to output to a digital file that does not understand aspect ratio (MPEG will for example) you can resample the resolution to 640 (or 648) x 480. That should give you correct aspect on a computer screen. -->>>

I see. Well I just installed WMP9 and it started playing back my DV footage @ 640 x480 instead of 720 x 480 like WMP 6.4 did. And the result of 640 x 480 footage looks strangely squished. So I imported DV footage again using Vegas Video 4.0 as 0.9, and Then re-sampled it (on time line, right click and check box says resample and turn the ratio to 1.0 multimedia) and it look just about the same (all squished).

What am I doing wrong here.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2003, 05:55 PM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Did you shoot it at 16:9 by any chance?? Can you put up a still
picture or e-mail me one?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2003, 06:56 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : Did you shoot it at 16:9 by any chance?? Can you put up a still
picture or e-mail me one? -->>>

Yes, I'll email a picture. Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2003, 08:18 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
If you want 1:1 aspect ratio footage, you are going to have to shoot withing a 1:1 ratio box and then crop the video to that ratio for your application. You cannot adjust the dimensions of the video in order to make 1:1.

If you have a PD150 you can load a 1:1 mask into the memory stick and overlay that over your video.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2003, 09:09 PM   #9
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Uh Ha!

So 360x240 IS the correct aspect ratio for encording streamable video over the internet played on computer, if the original footage is shot in DV (PD150 normal mode). No wonder anything I read made any sense. 720x480 3:2 ratio looks normal to me. So it only make sense to encode video in 360x240 which is also 3:2.

Thank you,

Anne the Ragady
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network