AE outputing help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2003, 10:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
AE outputing help

hey guys

I'm trying to outout my after effects work to my camera thru firewire.

Now under Edit > Preferences > Video Preview i only have 1 option and it's "Desktop Only" and I believe I should have FireWire as an option too.

any help would be awesome.

thanx
__________________
www.downfallproductions.com
Jim Ioannidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2003, 10:12 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
AE doesn't know about camera's and firewire cards. It doesn't
care. It is simply a program that you load media into, manipulate
it and then output media again. How you get that media to where
you want it to go it basically "your problem".

So after you are done with your composition in AE simply output
back to AVI DV at full quality and load that up in your NLE (Premiere
for example). Then use the print to tape feature to dump it back
to tape.

There was a plugin available for AE that outputs AE's monitor
over firewire so you can use a camera, DV deck or DV bridge
to view the signal you are working with on a TV/monitor.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2003, 12:04 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
AE is not realtime so an output capability doesn't do you any good if you are trying to record to tape.

I have the Canopus output driver for AE. It really helps compared to the computer monitor display.

FWIW
Canopus also makes an output driver for Photoshop that allows one to see the image on a NTSC monitor. That too is very useful.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2003, 01:57 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
i have been outputting my stuff into an NLE program and then getting it on tape but I have it right here in my Creating Motion Graphics book

"A recent addition to after effects is a feature that lets you have the comp echoedout through Firewaire to a DV device"

and they say it is done by doing the steps i listed above.
I was just wondering if this has worked for anyone else.
__________________
www.downfallproductions.com
Jim Ioannidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2003, 06:15 PM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I have never heard or seen this, Jim. Not to say it isn't there.
But seeing the lack of responses to this thread, I'm thinking no-
one else has either.

Have you tried to do a newsgroup search over at Google Groups?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2003, 05:48 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 116
AE Output

I believe that there is an output plugin for AE that comes packaged with the Parhelion Card by Matrox....3 head card and plugin, run about $379...I have seen the Storm plugin in action and if you have the ram and horsepower, it works really well.
__________________
Omens carry only as much weight as we choose to assign them.
Steve Leone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2003, 07:19 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
When they say echoed out I believe they are referring to Echo Fire, and AE plugin. SyntheticAperture is the mfg. and they make other interesting software for video.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network