Static around edges during at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2003, 07:58 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
Static around edges during

I recently started encoding my miniDV tapes onto the computer and ive noticed that only sometimes do i get this static or lines on my movies... Ive noticed that when i encode with windows movie maker they are less extreme/non existant (but the file size is 100+ megs). Ive tried premier 6.5 which yields the worst results (the movie becomes wavy) no matter what codec, and pinnacle which sometimes has this distortion.

The raw capture is perfect.

Please note this distortion is during full screen viewing on divx player/twins video player and windows media player.

Dunno if this helps but im using divx pro 5.02 codec, xvid codec
all max res's single pass highest bitrate.

the computer is a p4 2.4b
with a maxtor 120 gig for movies
512 2700 DDR
8 gig for OS xp sp1
the camera is dcr trv25

people have suggested its my camera but ive encoded this movie perfectly but the size is huge so i kinda ruled that out.

any assistance would be helpful
Salvatore Basalino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2003, 07:04 PM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Well.... I need to take a little breath after reading your post. You
are describing so very much codecs etc. that I'm a little at loss as
to what to suggest (for example, Premiere actually has almost
nothing to do with how your output looks!).

Lets try to break it down a little, shall we?

I'm not familiair with your camera. Is it a DV camera? If so, do
you transfer your footage through firewire into a DV AVI file?
If not, what do you use? I assume you are using full resolution
here (720x480 for NTSC and 720x576 for PAL).

If you play this footage with your Windows Media Player for
example, does it look okay? If so, good.

If you load your footage into Premiere you cannot judge the
quality in the window premiere uses to show it, because it is
a small and low-quality version of your clip.

Okay, now what kind of output formats have you created from
Premiere and in what resolutions/bitrates. I haven't looked much
at Divx encoding myself, so perhaps someone else will tune in
with their thoughts on that.

You say you find 100+ megs large. How long is your input movie?
If your movie is 90 minutes long 100 megs is small. If it is only
1 minute it is large.

My guess would be that what you are seeing is either stair-stepping
(this happens on tilted lines with sharp contrast) or interlacing
artificats (small time differences due to motion).

If you can post a picture of an example when it is worse we might
be able to better help you.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2003, 09:56 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 4
ill try to answer your questions in the order you asked them -=D

Yes my camera is a Dv camera and the movie is transfered to the computer thru firewire and full resolution.

Yes the footage looks merely OK thru windows media player.
The RAW capture looks perfect, once its encoded or compressed is where my problem is.

Im talking about the output of premier. Every movie ive outputted thru premier has a wavy distortion toward the beginning.
A file outputted thru Pinnacle does not have this distortion.
No matter what codec I use I try for the maximum amount of bitrate, quality, and such. The file size at that point doesnt matter. The goal is to capture DV that could be watched in a large window/ full screen without having to watch a bunch of pixelated garbage.

The RAW capture is 100+ megs for about 50 secs of DV (but it looks perfect)

im working on gettin a screen capture for you to show you what im talkin about...

BTW thank you for taking the time to help me with my problem!
Salvatore Basalino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2003, 02:58 PM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Your welcome.... I'm suspecting you are using some incorrect
settings when outputting. Make sure you use the exact same
resolution & framerate to output as what your input signal is
(sometimes Premiere seems to wanna use something else for
unknown reasons).

If you can get a picture that would be a lot of help. Even more
great would be to get pictures before and after (same frame
number). Before is easy to get. Just load your footage in premiere,
drag it to the timeline go to the frame that you want to send
and then go in the File menu and select Export Timeline -> Frame.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network