Newbie Premier question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2003, 05:07 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 8
Newbie Premier question

Ok, I'm just starting out on Premier. I've done a fair amount of work on my school's macs using Final Cut, but I'm switching to my own pc and so to premier.

I've got it capturing fine from my camera, but now that I've started assembling clips, I've hit some problems. The biggie is that I crash -- a lot -- not a full system-blue-screen of death thing, but Premier stops responding and while keyboard, mouse and other programs still respond, Premier is toast till I restart. Anyone know what might be causing this? and how I might go about fixing this?

Thanks in advance for any info you can give me :)
DongWon Song is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2003, 02:34 PM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Premiere can be quite unstable, depending on a couple of things.
First tell us what hardware do you've got, what OS you are
running and what version of Premiere.

Mostly this will be the cause of the following:

- poor OS (anything that is not Windows 2000 or XP)
- small amount of memory (I advise at least 512 mb for
Windows 2000 and 768 for XP)
- old version of premiere
- buggy installation. Make sure your not working with a crappy
installation done 3 years ago with lots of hardware changes
and all kind of applications. The best is a clean system not used
for anything other than movie work (and audio for example,
although even these two can bite if you have some exotic audio
hardware)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2003, 07:56 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 8
I'm using Win98 SE. Premier 6.5 which was installed about a month ago and no significant hardware changes since. I've got 512mb of ram. All of my equipment is fairly standard, I've got a Athlon processor (can't remember which one exactly but it's near 2gig), Gforce4 video card, capturing off of a Sony VX2000 off of a firewire card. If you need more info on my setup, I'll try and figure it out...

It also seems pretty erratic as to when it crashes and when it doesn't. Right after I posted i got about 3 straight hours in and finished assembling the clip i was working on with no problems.

I'd still like to get some more info on what's causing it in case it happens again though. Thanks for the response ;)
DongWon Song is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2003, 11:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 82
Could have guessed on the 98SE. It's a fairly common issue. Bottom line is you really should think about upgrading to Windows 2000 or XP (I use 2000 Pro with Premiere 6.5 and have no stability issues (just other issues with Premiere)). As Rob points out there are lots of possible reasons other than 98SE, but it's difficult to isolate them when you're using such an inherently unstable OS. Memory is usually the second issue if you're doing simple capturing and editing.

Now I know they'll be lots of folks who say they've been using 98SE without problems, etc., so it may be that more focused questions will get you an answer....other than (or instead of) 98SE.
__________________
DVX100A/AT4071a/Vegas/After Effects
Dual 2GHz Xeon PC
Stuart Kupinsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2003, 01:02 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 8
*sigh* I've been fighting going to 2000 for a while now...oh well looks like that's done with.

Thanks for the info!
DongWon Song is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2003, 06:07 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 27
You won't regret the effort.
You'll loose the 4GB restriction (building with NTFS) and you'll be able to edit without walking on eggshells looking over your shoulder for the crash to come.

Just a note to keep around, I had the crashing problem everytime I used the provided/upgraded MainConcept MPEG encoding. Premier would abort during the encoding. This was very repeatable. (W2KPro)

The following trick cured it and that was the last Premier crash I've seen.

In the Prem60.ini file:

[Override]
PreferDSCodecs=1

There are discussions in the Adobe forum regarding this setting and it appears that some systems need it and others don't. Just a note to put in the shoebox.

Good luck.
Rob Talley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2003, 12:31 PM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I think the combination Premiere 6.5 & Win98 is especially unstable.
Best to stick with 5.x or 6.0 for Win98. Better yet upgrade to
Windows 2000.

As pointed out you will gain stability, > 4 GB file support (movies
longer than 18 minutes) and a lot of other nice things....

Good luck!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2003, 06:26 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 10
I have been more than happy with Premiere running with XP. Just thought I would throw in my .02 since everyone else so far seems to be using 2k. Anyway, I haven't had any problems or crashes that I can pinpoint to premiere and xp.
Jesse Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2003, 09:53 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
If your running Premiere on a Pinnacle platform i.e. DV500 or Pro One. When it crashes or seems to crash and you still have mouse and keyboard control just click on the windows start menu and then click into Premiere again, see what happens.

All the best,

Ed Smith
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network