Dual Xeon System Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 10th, 2007, 04:14 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dubai - UAE
Posts: 24
Dual Xeon System Question

Hi Guys,

I have a dual Xeon system which i plan to use for NLE - Supermicro X5DPE-G2 (http://www.supermicro.com/products/m...1/X5DPE-G2.cfm) - this system is capable of housing up to 16Gb of RAM - my question is, if 32Bit processors can see a maximum of 4Gb of RAM - why is there the capacity for 16Gb??

I think i've missed something here...

Thanks!
Khaled Chatila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 05:42 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Some Xeon models are 64-bit.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 11:22 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
The fact that a Xeon may be 64 bit is utter cr*p and completely irrelevant. Whether 4 GB of Ram or more can be used is dependent on the OS and some people prefer to use an other OS than WinXP. Linux or Unix or Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition and Vista come to mind.

For the time being it would not make sense if you use WinXP to install more than 4 GB, but make sure you use four banks to profit from the memory architecture of this mobo. So, better use 4x1GB sticks, than 2x2GB sticks.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2007, 10:23 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dubai - UAE
Posts: 24
Thanks Harm,

So you're saying that with an OS other than XP in this system, it could make use of more RAM?

I thought the limit was dependent on the processor and not the OS.

This mobo has 8 banks, and currently i am occupying 4 of them with 1Gb sticks, it came with six, but when i noticed that the OS was only seeing 4, i took the other two out and used them elsewhere.

i think the previous owner was using redhat linux... and by what ur saying, they probably had access to all 6Gb of installed RAM - right?

Thanks.
Khaled Chatila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 03:26 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Correct, Khaled.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network