Windows Vista Not yet wait for 64 bit drivers. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 5th, 2007, 10:50 AM   #1
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
Windows Vista Not yet wait for 64 bit drivers.

Over here at Videoguys.com getting lots of calls & emails about Vista and NLE. We're taking the following position for now which we've posted on our systems recommendtations page http://www.videoguys.com/system.htm :

Windows Vista Not yet wait for 64 bit drivers.

Microsoft has finally shipped their much awaited and hyped next OS Vista. For Digital Videographers we have one piece of advice: Do Not Upgrade (Yet)

Here are our top reasons why we feel you MUST WAIT before upgrading or migrating to Vista

1. Wait for certified Vista 64 bit drivers for your software and hardware. We see no reason or advantage at all for upgrading to the 32 bit version of Vista. It eats up resources and at best you will get the same performance you already have under WinXP. Once we have 64bit software and drivers to offer you, we will begin recommending Vista
2. Vista has too many flavors, and we have no idea which one will offer the best value and performance for video editing. You dont want to have to upgrade to a more expensive version in a few months, and you dont want to overpay for the more expensive flavors if you dont need it.
3. Vista, video cards and graphics drivers. One of the coolest new features about Vista is the Aero display technology that allow you to see and work with multiple windows in 3D space. Very cool! But what will that do for video editing? Im concerned it will steal resources and slow us down. We recommend waiting until we can recommend the right optimized graphics drivers and settings for you.

There is no doubt that some time this year, probably early summer after the first Service Packs have been released we will change our tune. At first well tell you to proceed with caution, but give it a try especially once we get Vista certified version of our software. But I dont think youll see us giving it our top recommendation until it can deliver on the full promise of 64 bit computing. Then there will be no turning back.

Down the road Vista will allow us to take full advantage of multiple CPU cores, utilization of 4,6,8 or more GBs of RAM and even multiple graphic cards running multiple HD displays. Eventually well see new NLE software GUIs and interfaces that tap into the Aero technology to make editing even easier and more productive. Were just not there yet. Give it time. By this time next year I think well have it all and more!!

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 07:21 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Nice advice.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I usually wait at least a year before installing any new Microsoft product.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
Is it possible to use the Aero technology without using the ugly Aero theme? Whenever I get my hands on a Windows machine I always switch the display settings back to the "Classic" theme.

On top of the above, I find translucent windows to be a pointless gimmick, one that I imagine needlessly eats computing power.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 12:11 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
wow, gary, thanks for the advice. i was just about to ask this very question...the screwy five-edition release of vista has me completely confused as to which version to purchase, now that our computers are switched to intel-based macs...

but if i had an immediate need, let's just say, which one *would* i be best served by purchasing? i have a pending project which, if the contract gets signed may require an .avi output, and i was thinking about buying vista and a cheapie PC-based NLE, for the purposes of cross-platform compatibility. i don't think it will need 64-bit processing.
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 05:35 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Robert: yes you can disable it, but I think it's the first 'new' Windows GUI that actually looks nice (I'm running XP in the classic look as well). It doesn't really eat resources since all the work for it is being done on your graphics card which would otherwise not be doing much else. It might draw a bit more power due to this (but tests so far were not able to really confirm this), but you should not experience any slow downs or more resource use due to this.

Also keep in mind that Vista caches and pre-allocates a lot more than previous Windows versions. So it appears to use a lot more memory when in reality it will give portions of it up when you start using programs that require more memory.


Meryem: see http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro...ns/choose.mspx to help you decide. I would ignore Home Basic. So that leaves you with Home Premium, Business or Ultimate (in order of price). I think Home Premium has what most people need. Business might be nice for that full system backup feature, but I haven't checked that out myself. Ultimate is probably overkill for most (unless you want that backup feature but also want Media Center for example).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 08:44 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
thanks for your help, rob. that's exactly the info i needed. home premium oughta work. i can see the efficiencies of 2-tiered price structuring, but 5 is just odd.
Meryem Ersoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 09:44 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Lohman
Meryem: see http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro...ns/choose.mspx to help you decide. I would ignore Home Basic. So that leaves you with Home Premium, Business or Ultimate (in order of price). I think Home Premium has what most people need. Business might be nice for that full system backup feature, but I haven't checked that out myself. Ultimate is probably overkill for most (unless you want that backup feature but also want Media Center for example).
With Ultimate, you get a free Texas Hold'em Poker Game ;) That should be reason enough, right?

The ultimate decider is, "do you use that system to make money?" If so, don't convert until your money-making software says they support Vista. If you have free time to experiment, feel free.

I have Vista booting on my Render drive so I can test. Just not ready to switch my main OS yet. Not everything has been tested.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 01:00 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CSL BCS MX
Posts: 67
Vista DRM Flowchart....

Ever wondered how MIG, HDCP, EVR, PVP and AACS were inter-related?

http://badvista.fsf.org/blog/images/Slide15.jpg

Yeah.... it's for real.
Jay Fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 05:00 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Fisk View Post
Ever wondered how MIG, HDCP, EVR, PVP and AACS were inter-related?

http://badvista.fsf.org/blog/images/Slide15.jpg

Yeah.... it's for real.
This is a slide that shows how to run through the layers of an OS. Parts of it are missing, in the wrong place, and mislabeled. It is also not a Microsoft slide. Here is how MS would label it http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms797619.aspx

Not sure what the point is. If it is about a conspiracy, this is not the slide that shows one. This maze was not created by Microsoft. The studios created this mess. And the site linked hates Vista. Like they care as their real motto is ABM - Anything But Microsoft.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 07:50 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CSL BCS MX
Posts: 67
It's 100% authentic, direct from Microsoft - Here's the whole briefing:

http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...6_WinHEC05.ppt

You're correct though, it's jam-packed with errors and omissions - mostly intentional considering the subject matter. Ingenious disinformation ya?

But definately suitable for framing - plotting to Iris now.
Jay Fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 12:06 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Fisk View Post
It's 100% authentic, direct from Microsoft - Here's the whole briefing:

http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...6_WinHEC05.ppt

You're correct though, it's jam-packed with errors and omissions - mostly intentional considering the subject matter. Ingenious disinformation ya?

But definately suitable for framing - plotting to Iris now.
Hmmm... Last time I saw Dave Marsh present the Longhorn WDDM was in 2004. That is his slide then. Then it did not include all the rest of it. That kernel stub was supposed to move to the user mode. Geez. HDMI was not part of the spec then either. It WAS so much simplier before all this required content protection garbage had to be put in.

Oh, and you can believe what you want, but this is compliance with Hollywood. Apple has to do the same thing in their next OS.

Last edited by George Ellis; March 12th, 2007 at 04:47 PM. Reason: more
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 05:35 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
64bit XP Murders Vista

Currently running 64bit XP Pro (based off of Server 2003 code) - With ALL 64bit drivers and a nice set of 64bit software now. Premiere (32bit) runs just as fast, Windows x64 runs faster than 32bit XP or Vista. Why wait for more hardware power and eye candy drivers, go XP 64bit...
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 01:45 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood USA
Posts: 128
I agree..I just go rid of my 32bit xp and switched to 64bit...haven't really played with it yet...but so far...seems a lot more stable than the 32bit and starts up the computer faster than before.
Cary Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 02:04 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 356
When's this coming out?
Greg Harris is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network