HDD issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2007, 09:11 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Holsbeek BELGIUM
Posts: 40
HDD issues

Hi all,

I bought an extra seagate 300GB (7200rpm) Hard Disk Drive to store more DV-footage than I can now (80 GB). I'm having some issues however properly making this one work.

The HDD won't play any video-files. When I copy a DV (or other video) file to the new disk and try to run it (windows media player, VLC, ...); it doesn't work. I find it particularry annoying I can't load in video-footage from this new disk into any of my two NLE solutions. Vegas crashes when loading the footage from explorer to project media (it crashes when trying to play a fresh clip on the timeline). And Avid Xpress Pro does the same when I load footage in the "OMFI media files" folder I located on the new drive. Whenever I make a new media-file (title e.g.) and save it to the new disk, avid crashes all the same.

The funny thing is: the drive seems to work properly for other media files (pictures, audio, music, text files). So my local shopkeeper laughs at me when I explain the exact problem. It works, yet not for the purposes I bought it for.
I currently installed the drive as the "slave" drive and all pins/connectors are correct. My OS is installed on the other, master drive.

What could be causing the problem?
What can I do about this?
Will formatting everything, installing the big drive as "master" and installing the OS (winXP) on this drive along with all needed NLE applications solve anything?


Canon XM-2
AVID Xpress Pro 5.7
Merlin Vandenbossche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2007, 01:05 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central North Carolina (Raleigh, Durham, & surrounding areas)
Posts: 301
I'm told that installing the drives on the same bus (ie one as master and one as slave) can cause problems. I was told that the drives should be installed on different buses. (HDD 1 vs HDD 2?) Anyway, that's how I've always done mine and I've never had the problems you describe.

Good luck!

Mark Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2007, 02:35 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Is it formatted as FAT32? Have you tried to copy/capture files larger than the maximum permitted with FAT32 (4GB). Possibly, you have corrupt files.

(When I buy a new external drive, first thing I do is reformat it to NTFS.)
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2007, 06:47 PM   #4
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
I agree, sounds like a file system issue. FAT32 won't due anthing above 2GB. While I've never bought a hard disk that was preformatted, it is easy to format in FAT32 by mistake, especially if your OS is FAT32. If so, simple run the convert option in Windows to make all your drives NTFS.

You may also want to try

chkdsk /f /r in the command line, reboot and see if you have a corrupt fat table...
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 08:40 AM   #5
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,674
I had about the same trouble as you some time ago.
(about 1,5 years ago?)

In my case, it was some drivers for the bios/motherboard that needed to be upgraded.
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network