3/4-inch Umatic deck to the digital realm at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2007, 07:42 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 133
3/4-inch Umatic deck to the digital realm

Need some help from you ole' timers--especially you who remember the 3/4-inch Umatic decks: This weekend Im copying my old -inch video projects I did in college to the digital realm using a Canopus advc-300 analog to digital converter. I have run into a snag:

My original projects were produced using audio tracks one and two. After capturing the footage (using a Sony Umatic -inch deck), everything is fine except after the capture is complete, I discover that audio track one(the music track) didnt capture. Im only getting audio track twothe dialogue track. Im sure Im overlooking something simple. What is it? Anyone remember the old days of two audio tracks on a Umatic tape? Shouldnt I be hearing my music soundtrack (on track #1) just as Im hearing the dialogue of track #2 while capturing? When I'm capturing, I'm only hearing what's on track #2 of the tape. I'm using Sony Vegas.

I'm using a Sony Umatic VO-5850 (3/4-inch deck). It must be something in Vegas I'm not doing because I can only hear the audio of track # two when capturing. Why can't I hear the soundtrack (track #1)? Hmmm..

On the front of the deck: Audio Level: Ch1 VU meter, Ch2 VU meter, Audio limiter on/off. Audio Monitor: Ch1/mix/ch2.
Mode Select: TBC/Normal/Edit

I'm using the red/white/yellow cable to connect output to my Canopus inputs. Ch1 and Ch2 VU meters do not move while playing back the tape--yet I hear only the one track while recording.
Dale Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2007, 08:55 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 200
5/4 to dv

Someone recently copied some 3/4 tapes for me via a U-matic deck directly onto a Canon camcorder dv tape. Then I ingested the tape files in the usual manner onto my NLE from the Canon.

Last edited by Larry Vaughn; April 6th, 2007 at 08:57 PM. Reason: clarity
Larry Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2007, 12:24 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
try switching out the output cables during the transfer to see if you can hear the other track suddenly kick in. There may be an output selection switch on the front of the unit.

It's possible you accidentally are using the mix output rather than output 1 on the back of the unit.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2007, 06:46 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 133
Okay; it turns out it was a videotape problem. Some of my 16 year old tapes play both channels of audio; some only play one. So that's why my old profs suggested placing important audio on channel 2 back in those days. Remember that recommendation back in the days of 3/4-inch tape? Thank goodness I made a dub of my master. The dub channels work just fine.
Dale Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2007, 12:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
Thanks for the update Dale.

Just for kicks make sure the skew adjustment and the tracking adjustment has been optimized.
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2007, 06:13 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 133
Not that it matters much today in the world of digital, but my 3M tapes held up much better than the Sony brand tapes--for what it's worth.

Dale
Dale Nicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2007, 08:28 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Nicholson View Post
Not that it matters much today in the world of digital, but my 3M tapes held up much better than the Sony brand tapes--for what it's worth.

Dale

Several years ago I did a bump up from 3/4 to betacam sp and the 3/4 machine would develop a head clog after only a couple of hours of use. I think it was because the 3/4 tapes were pretty old and tape particles were coming off the tape and landing onto the video heads.

I discovered that unused 3M 3/4 tapes, when played after the 3/4 deck's heads were clogged would actually clean the video heads on the 3/4 deck!
Alessandro Machi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network