Installing Pinnacle 10.6 Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2007, 06:36 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Installing Pinnacle 10.6 Question

I just recently received the upgrade in the mail after using studio 9. To install 10.6, do I first uninstall version 9 or install over version 9? The case of 10.6 reads "A previous version of pinnacle studio 7 or higher is required."

Has anyone else had problems capturing with 1394 with 10.6?

Lisa
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 12:02 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
I am not familiar with Pinnacle, but your answer is right there: "A previous version of pinnacle studio 7 or higher is required." You need to install over your existing version 9, so do not unistall Studio 9. Upgrades are just that: a newer, better version of an existing software, an addition to your existing one.

As far as your firewire problems (if we're talking about the same PC you mention in your other thread), I don't think it's related to any NLE... your computer simply does not recognize the camera and that won't change with the installation of any NLE software. You need to get your PC to recognize the camcorder (have it listed under My computer as DV or HDV device).
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 12:40 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central North Carolina (Raleigh, Durham, & surrounding areas)
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa Bennett View Post
I just recently received the upgrade in the mail after using studio 9. To install 10.6, do I first uninstall version 9 or install over version 9? The case of 10.6 reads "A previous version of pinnacle studio 7 or higher is required."

Has anyone else had problems capturing with 1394 with 10.6?

Lisa
I've upgraded to newer versions of Pinnacle, from older versions of Pinnacle and never had to uninstall first.

I haven't used version 10, so I can't help with your other question, but I think Ervin might be right, I don't think it's a Pinnacle problem.
Mark Holland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 06:04 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
The computer just isn't recognizing the camera. I've done everything I know to do. Even Gateway helped me reload the 1394 driver. I think I'll try hooking up the camera to a different computer and then if that one doesn't find it, then there is certainly a problem.

I did see today that there are 2 listings in device manager under systems that say Pinnacle Marvin. One has a yellow exclamation mark and the other doesn't. Before I only recall seeing it listed one time. It has an error code 31 saying that windows was not able to load the driver.

I received an email from Pinnacle saying that studio doesn't support 64-bit. The gateway has ATI and on the sticker it says 64 bit powerhouse. Maybe this is the problem and a different computer will solve it. I was hoping to use the gateway so I can work mobile.

This is frustrating. Upgraded so I could edit hd and now this ....oh well.

Thanks for the help. If you think of anything that might be an answer to this mess, please send it over.

Best Regards,
Lisa
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 06:24 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
just a note on the pinnacle upgrade. computer shows version 9 and version 10 as separate programs on the computer. is it suppose to be this way? since it's an upgrade I was thinking it would upgrade and only allow show one program (pinnacle studio plus) under my programs.
thanks again
Lisa
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2007, 10:40 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
I've been using Studio for a while (since version 2000).

1. I almost always uninstall the previous version.
The newer version of software often gets put in a different directory.
(...\Studio7, ...\Studio8, ...\Studio9, you get the idea).
It also eliminates confusion with the stuff that gets installed into the Windows\System directory.

2. I then run a registry cleaner to clean up all the registry references still left after the uninstall. Pinnacle Systems uninstall programs could use major improvement here.

3. I then install the upgrade. When it doesn't find a previous version on the hard drive, it will walk you through sticking in a previous version CD. Similar to what a Windows OS Upgrade CD will do.

4. Be sure to go to there website for the latest patch! Last I checked they were up to 10.7. Download and install that as well.

And now you are good to go.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2007, 02:11 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 392
Hi Bill,

Thank you for the assistance.

I was a bit confused because the Studio Plus package says "a previous version of Pinnacle Studio version 7 or higher is required." So, I had loaded it and then saw that it left me with the old version and also the 10.6 version. I wasn't sure if there were some files that were shared so I just left the old version in. But, after your post, it seems that I should go in and delete the earlier version which is Studio AV/DV.

I was having a problem trying to get the computer to recognize the camera. It finally did start working but sometimes when I plug in the firewire to computer it is recognized right away and other times I have to unplug it a few times to get it to work.

I've been happy with Pinnacle products so far. It's a bit confusing on how to delete old projects but otherwise it's been great.

Thank you again,
Lisa
Lisa Bennett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network