Best way to go on HDMI capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Non-Linear Editing on the PC
Discussing the editing of all formats with Matrox, Pinnacle and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 31st, 2007, 03:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
Best way to go on HDMI capture

Hello people from dvinfo! Im building a new machine to work with HDV sony Z1 and M25U(HDMI) or M15U deck. My machine it will falow the videoguys.com specs for dual xeon dual core. But im wondering it will be the best way to go.

1 Adobe prodution CS3 with matrox RTX.2(realtime premiere) and intesity pro(HDMI)??? it is possible to use both? Someone here already tried?

2 Avid xpress pro with avid toolbox with mojo SDi and convert design box to conect the M25U HDMI output with the SDI in of the mojo

I usually prefer the adobe solution because im already trained for, but for professional issues is best to learn another apliccation. Waiting for some directions, thanx
Luis
Luis Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2007, 01:51 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
!

no ideas about it?
Luis Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2007, 03:51 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Why not fire wire? There is no benefit in using HDMI, unless you want to to forfeit desk control.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2007, 07:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
i tought tha i could get better unconpresed signal with HDMI over firewire
Luis Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 05:00 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Once your material is on tape, there is no way to get an uncompressed signal. Once compressed it remains compressed. Using HDMI is no different than using fire wire, just a means for digital transfer, but fire wire has the advantage of transferring time code and recording data and deck control, all of which are not available when using HDMI.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 10:42 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
Thanx Harm! so it would be good to use HDMI for live capture from the camera, right? If i use Focus FS4HD with firewire or something like that i would be getting a better image?? than getting from tape, right?
Luis Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 10:51 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Ignacio View Post
Thanx Harm! so it would be good to use HDMI for live capture from the camera, right? If i use Focus FS4HD with firewire or something like that i would be getting a better image?? than getting from tape, right?
Impossible. Look here: http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=96213
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 11:03 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 36
Thanx for the directions, i will go with avid pro and m15U !and for the HDMI projects... i love experimental eltronic tests!
Luis Ignacio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2007, 06:55 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Hdmi On Hv20

I thought the HDMI carried the audio & data all in one cable and as new to HD editing was going to get a new high end graphics card with HDMI to capture instead of dedicated video card ? . Then I could do others things. I've only got P4 2.8 System & Piannacle sofware is very slow at rendering. Got a couple of bits for my new build ie 150gig raptor ,new case etc..was going to get 500gig Samsung for video files , But some one said should stick with raptors even though less storage. & quad core not way to go as less than 3ghz ? Pinnacle does not support 64 bit. So may have to learn new editing software that does.
Any ideas as I've gone off the rails with which wat to go. I have a lot of dv footage to edit & now HD. I've had terrible problems with Pinnacle -but it has been easy & ok when its worked. do not like there infernal key system while upgrades give very little extra.
Joe
Joe Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 05:54 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Rogers View Post
I thought the HDMI carried the audio & data all in one cable and as new to HD editing was going to get a new high end graphics card with HDMI to capture instead of dedicated video card ? . Then I could do others things. I've only got P4 2.8 System & Piannacle sofware is very slow at rendering. Got a couple of bits for my new build ie 150gig raptor ,new case etc..was going to get 500gig Samsung for video files , But some one said should stick with raptors even though less storage. & quad core not way to go as less than 3ghz ? Pinnacle does not support 64 bit. So may have to learn new editing software that does.
Any ideas as I've gone off the rails with which wat to go. I have a lot of dv footage to edit & now HD. I've had terrible problems with Pinnacle -but it has been easy & ok when its worked. do not like there infernal key system while upgrades give very little extra.
Joe
Instead of getting a high end graphics card with HDMI, just use on board fire wire to capture and use the amount not spent on getting a better CPU, more RAM, more disks and a good editor like Vegas or Premiere. Try to sell the Pinnacle of frustration and disillusion.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 02:52 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 58
Should I cancel my Intensity order?

I JUST ordered an intensity card and HDMI cable, thinking there was a HUGE benefit to capturing via HDMI over Firewire. Based on this thread, it sounds like I should cancel! Opinions welcome. I think I still have time...
Ed Hecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2007, 11:36 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Hi,

Using HDMI is different from using firewire. HDMI is a digital video signal while firewire is data transfer. This means that you can take the HDMI signal out from your camera and capture it into a more manageable codec for editing.
__________________
Blackmagic Design
Kristian Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 02:06 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6
Hdmi Quality

So from the above HDMI is better ?. Does this mean the codec compression is less and you lose quality OR NOT .
Joe.
Joe Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 02:38 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
I honestly can not see any advantage in a video transfer over a data transfer, nor can I see the advantage of throwing out time code data, date and time stamp, exposure data etc. and losing deck control.

I much prefer using Cineform or similar plug-ins to convert from native HDV to an intermediate codec and keeping all relevant data intact.

The advantage of the video transfer is that you can attach the camera to a TV for watching. For editing there are only disadvantages.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 12:47 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6
HDMI Quality in video transfer

Thanks Harm. I was getting hung up on getting HDMI ports on computer/ laptop when my Canon HV20 has both firewire & HDMI. So its more conveinience in USING hdmi connecting to HD LCD. I think partly the problem is people hearing about the 1.3 HDMI standard where most LCD TV's are obsolete and think HDMI is superceding Firewire.
Joe
Joe Rogers is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Non-Linear Editing on the PC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network