Star Wars: What format was the CGI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2007, 08:43 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Star Wars: What format was the CGI

I expect this to generate some debate:

We all know the 3 Star Wars prequels were shot (in varying amounts) on modified HDCAM cameras, in 1920x1080p.

My question is: what resolution was the actual D.I. and CGI work done in?

Could it be possible that Lucas was not as self-limiting as many assume, and he actually mastered those films in 4k or higher?
Now I know the "live" footage was only HDCAM/2k, but perhaps that would not be so noticeable after compositing into a 4k+ CGI environment. Since virtually every scene is 90% CGI, would we really notice the actors themselves are only 2k?

Maybe Lucas is saving an ultra-hi-def version for later release?

My money is on a 4k+ CGI environment. I refuse to believe Lucas would limit his future exploitation of the movies by only rendering in 2k/HDCAM resolutions.

Just pondering.....
Paul V Doherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2007, 10:38 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 99
I think I remember reading somewhere a long time ago the cgi was 4k....
Tim OBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2007, 02:28 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
It's all over the internet: the CGI used was 4K. Just Google around...
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 10:53 PM   #4
American Society of Cinematographers
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 123
"The Phantom Menace" was shot in 35mm anamorphic (Hawk lenses, Kodak negative).
"Attack of the Clones" was shot mostly on the Sony F900, mostly recorded to HDCAM.
"Revenge of the Sith" was shot mostly on the Sony F950, mostly recorded to HDCAM-SR.

Generally ILM did their effects work at 2K, not 4K, at least as far as I've heard from ex-ILM people.

If Lucas wanted to future-proof his movies at 4K resolution, he wouldn't have shot the last two prequels with HD cameras. Even "The Phantom Menace" went through a 2K D.I. more or less at ILM.
__________________
David Mullen, ASC
Los Angeles
David Mullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network