Help recognizing DV in XP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2002, 08:08 PM   #1
Registration Incomplete -- contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 108
Help recognizing DV in XP

Damn, thought everything would go smooth but I'm having problems getting my Canon GL-1 to get recognized in XP.

I have a IEEE1394 card I recently put in and it comes up as a Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller. It's actually a DV card from SIIG. But it seems to be working...no exclamation.

My problem is in detecting my GL1. I have it on and set on VCR mode. But for some reason it comes up as a 61883 Class Bus Device. Weird. Anybody know a solution to this problem.

At one point it did come up as Canon DV Camcorder under Imaging Devices but I can't repeat that for some reason.

Also does it have to be on VCR mode? How do you get footage on to your PC from what the camera is currently pointing at in record mode (but actually not recording)?
mdreyes23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2002, 09:44 PM   #2
Registration Incomplete -- contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 108
Wow...I give up! I can't figure this out. I dont get any exclamation points...but I dont get anything installed under Imaging Devices.

It keeps installing a 61883 Device and an AVC Device.

Does anybody have the Canon GL-1 and WindowsXP and have had any problems? What DV Card do you use?
mdreyes23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2002, 11:07 PM   #3
Registration Incomplete -- contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 108
umm...never mind got it to work. Not sure what I did...but I think it worked on one firewire port and not another. Weird.
mdreyes23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2002, 01:49 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Ok, give this a try...exactly.


Remove the card from your system, ie pull it out of the computer.

Then uninstall all the cards drivers and software.

Reboot your system.

Install your editing software, ie premiere or whatever you want to use.

Shutdown, reinstall your card and let it load up as the Texas Instruments card.

Reboot your system.

Insert you cards driver CD and let it install the drivers.

Reboot your system

Ensure all is well, (no !)

Shutdown system.

Plug in camera via Iee1394/Firewire and turn it to VCR mode

Boot your system

Hopefully all will be working.

Let me know how you go
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2002, 09:57 AM   #5
Registration Incomplete -- contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 108
Thanks afterburnerDV. I was thinking about that as a last resort...but for some reason it just works fine now. Haven't had a problem. It may be that it just works on one Firewire port and not the other 2. I'll deal with that later if I ever need to use the other ports and it doesn't work.
mdreyes23 is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network