How much disk for IMX? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2007, 02:32 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: sweden
Posts: 38
How much disk for IMX?

We will record a concert with IMX, 5 cameras, three 23 GB disks for each evening. We will record two evenings.

So I have 30 discs - each 23GB


So - Do I need minimum a 700 GB disk for this?
Arvid Unsgaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 02:41 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
That's 690gb, raw.

You will want a lot of space.

You COULD decide what is actually good to use first, then maybe limit that to 400gb, if you cut a lot. Or, even less. Batch capture.
That's not how I like to edit, though.

You may also want to convert to uncompressed. Much bigger, then.

I'd recommend a backup of the files.

Exports, any FX/etc., and other additional media will add up.

Have 1TB free, and you might be ok, though 2TB would allow for a backup and less worry.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 04:53 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: sweden
Posts: 38
So if I have two 500 GB for the raw material and 1TB for backup will be ok?

Should I use FW 400 or FW 800?
Arvid Unsgaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 07:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
Sure. That's 2TB. Sounds alright.

I'd say 800. When transferring that much data, you're not going to want to wait a long time, and 800 is twice as fast.

What's the datarate of the media? I'm not sure what format that would be, since I'm not familiar with the camera.

Generally, 400 is fast enough for editing.

Also, be sure that it's a 7200 rpm hard disc. 5400 will stall out at times editing video. (It's ok, but just a bit sluggish at times... kinda stutters, especially with uncompressed.) (*5400 would be ok for backups.)
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2007, 02:27 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: sweden
Posts: 38
Today i Buy 2 Iomega Ultramax 1TB

Should I use Raid 0 or should I use JBOD/Spanning.

My Thought was to use raid 0 and backup all the time to the second disk using JBOD/Spanning.

What do you think?
Arvid Unsgaard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network