grabbing stills from an HDV file - HELP! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 9th, 2007, 12:25 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston TX and New Orleans LA
Posts: 300
grabbing stills from an HDV file - HELP!

grabbing stills from an HDV file - HELP!

Hi,

I have a 60i HDV file....

I need a way to automatically capture/grab stills from the video.

I need them be as clear/vibrant and as sharp as possible.

I am currently using Vegas 7 to automatically render out stills every 5 or 10 seconds...
They look pretty good... but I am wondering... is there a better way?
To get even better stills?

Thanks for all your help!
__________________
I produce High Quality content with My Certain Style... I cover South Padre, TX to Tampa Bay, FL

FYI: That includes... Corpus Christi, Galveston, Houston, Beaumont/ Lake Charles, Lafayette, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Biloxi, Mobile, Penscola, Ft. Walton, Panama City... Any every little city and town in between.

If you need anything, Let's talk...
Brent Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 04:16 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Posts: 104
I often extract still frames from HDV using Premiere Pro CS3. When you shoot 1,800 still frames per minute, there are times when you find funny things where you least expect them (i.e. see: http://www.wcardone.com/tonguelashing.jpg).

Quality wise all you can do is deinterlace the photo. Other than that you need to select the exact frame you want since an adjacent frame may contain a nearly identical picture but have some bluring because of motion.

The 1.57 megapixel images make nice 4x6 prints.
__________________
Wesley Cardone
www.WCardoneProductions.com, Detroit and Lansing, Michigan
Wesley Cardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 04:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 578
Hi there

I use PPro and get pretty good stills from an HDV clip... Just save frame.. they are not however publishing standard, unless that's all we have. Ok for an internet site but lack definition and resolution for much else. Just goes to show how much worse SD stuff was I've had printed...

As Wesley says you'll need to de-interlace your 60i footage...

But I think you'll find Vegas is capable of getting as good a footage as it gets from an interlaced video. You'll not get better than 1440x1080.

regards
Gareth
Gareth Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2007, 11:04 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston TX and New Orleans LA
Posts: 300
I need to be able to do it automatically.... not ever picture has to be great...

but I have about 100 thirty minute videos... and i need to get about 300-500 good/usable pics from each video for a website.

Is there a good way to automate this process?

THANKS!
__________________
I produce High Quality content with My Certain Style... I cover South Padre, TX to Tampa Bay, FL

FYI: That includes... Corpus Christi, Galveston, Houston, Beaumont/ Lake Charles, Lafayette, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Biloxi, Mobile, Penscola, Ft. Walton, Panama City... Any every little city and town in between.

If you need anything, Let's talk...
Brent Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2007, 07:28 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Marks View Post
Is there a good way to automate this process?

THANKS!
I am inclined to say, "No." My reasoning is that you usually must hand-select the precise frame you want. Maybe 20% of the time there is a little motion captured showing a blur which will go away if you just flip the the adjacent frame.

If there is a way to automate the process you would be unhappy with the overall result.

Wesley
__________________
Wesley Cardone
www.WCardoneProductions.com, Detroit and Lansing, Michigan
Wesley Cardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2007, 12:35 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
Open in Quicktime. Press ctrl+c. Open any photo program; paste; save.
This will include interlacing, though, which is unavoidable with 60i. You can get rid of it using a few methods of interpolation, from simple vertical blur to a specific deinterlacing filter (there's on in photoshop if you have that).

Alternatively, you could convert the video to progressive in the first place.

Also, QT itself deinterlaces (though not with the best algorithm) by default [or you can turn this on in the video settings of movie properties, if it is off]; you could then take a screen capture [as it doesn't copy or export by default].


Note: There is also an export option, and you can choose "picture" [ie, frame], in QT, but only with the pro version.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network