flickering blue screen at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2002, 06:34 AM   #1
Posts: n/a
flickering blue screen

This is driving me nuts... I have 2 completed brief videos stored in my computer. Video 1, I can firewire to my GL1 - it plays back fine through the viewfinder and fine when hooked up to the TV. Video 2 however, on playback, I get a flickering blue screen through the viewfinder. It never happens in the same place on the tape, very random... sometimes at a splice, sometimes in the middle of a clip. It's like the signal is interrupted. When I playback on the TV screen, it'll show brief flickering pixelated patches with an interruption in the audio.

What is really baffling is that it's happening with video2 and not video 1. If it's a firewire problem, shouldn't it happen with both?

Can anyone shed some light on this?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2002, 07:15 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What is the difference between these files? That usually
gives you a clue where to look.

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2002, 11:07 AM   #3
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Any Chance Macrovision is on Video2? [no text]

Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2002, 12:33 AM   #4
Posts: n/a
I am having the same exact problem. I have a XL1, I use Premiere, my system consists of a dual PIII 1 gig-tyan board-2 40 gig maxtor 7200 rpm-western digital firewre card. I have tried everything and I mean everything, different OS's (98 SE, Win 2k), Different Firewire cards (Western Digital, Pinnacle), Different Software (Premiere, Avid ExpressDV2). I have spent a lot of money and time trying to fix this issue. I'm not sure what to do at this point. If anyone has a clue let me know please!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2002, 01:30 AM   #5
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The blue screen spoken of? is it the blue screen that monitors display when no signal is present? If so, the blue screen is switched on or generated, by different devices. The blue screen is triggered when the video signal is absent or below a certain level. The problem is either in the signal or the device that generates the blue screen.

The signal may have errors in sync, timing or other abnormalities. This can be examined with a waveform monitor. The abnormality may be a defect in the tape, a bad or misstimed edit, bad cable or connection etc. For example a bad edit can cause the error correction tokick on and the device senses this as a weak or absent signal and turns on the blue screen briefly. The level or point at which the blue screen is switched could be set improperly and may need to be set by a service technician.

Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2002, 09:51 AM   #6
Posts: n/a
Yes it's the blue screen that happens when a device has no signal input. I am exporting from the computer to the XL1 through firewire. I have had this issue on my old system also. My new system is built like a brick house except for the drives (eide 7200rpm mators). Many many other people are complaining of the same issue, even on other boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2002, 10:19 AM   #7
Posts: n/a
I just got off the phone with canon and they want me to send it in to be looked at. Do you all suggest I do it. I don't really want to considering so many others are having this issue (makes me think it's not my particular camera that's broken). Plus I have heard they aren't exactly lighting fast about turnarounds.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2002, 09:50 AM   #8
Posts: n/a
Maybe this will help some of you. I download the dv capture update from the Microsoft direct x web site and the blue screen flicker was reduced signifigantly. It still happens but at least not as often.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2002, 11:26 PM   #9
Posts: n/a
I'll be honest with ya folks I think this is a Canon problem. I hooked up a couple of different cams and my XL1 is the only one that has this issue. I'm gonna hound Canon and see if I can get some answers.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2002, 09:13 AM   #10
Posts: n/a
Dear Robert Hedges,

Thank you for your inquiry. We regret any difficulties the connection to
the computer may have caused.

The digital camcorder is equipped with a DV IN/OUT terminal on its body
that conforms to IEEE 1394, also referred to as Firewire. This terminal
provides digital connectivity for high speed transfer of video, stills
and audio from the digital camcorder to a DV ready computer. The
firewire cable is a separate accessory that you could use. Regrettably
we do not have any drivers for the connection or configuration of the
software or the connecting device. You will have to contact the software
vendor and the firewire provider on driver configuration issues. Our
camcorders captures images at 29.97 fps which is the NTSC standard. Some
softwares captures at 30fps which can result in synchronization issues.
Unfortunately this feature cannot be changed on the camcorder and it is
not a flaw. There are no firmware updates available.

Thank you for your interest in Canon. We look forward to assisting you
in the future.


Product Support Representative

Original Message Follows:

INQUIRY=I get a blue flash on the camera when trying to record
video from my computer. I understand that the blue screen
means the camera has lost the signal from the computer. I
have tried 3 other cameras a JVC, a Canon, a Sony. My XL1
is the only one that does this.
Is this a problem that Canon is aware of? I have contacted
tech support by phone and they said that this is an unknown
issue. I have visited several internet message boards and
there are many people having this same issue. The XL1 is a
great camera (not cheap either) and I would love to get
full use from it. If you could please help me I would
appreciate it.

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network