Nvidia 9 series at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2008, 04:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 47
Nvidia 9 series

The Nvidia 9 series are official and will be releasing soon. With this being said, do you think this will fix the overlay problem that the 8 series have, or will they keep it as is and make us (the non gamers) have to buy a Quadro?

http://www.engadget.com/2008/02/22/g...ue-march-11th/

Edit:

The GeForce 9600GT are already out. I just noticed this on newegg.

http://promotions.newegg.com/NVIDIA/...%2f118x118.gif
__________________
Cinematographer & Film Director @ FPC
www.adamnchapman.com

Last edited by Adam Chapman; February 22nd, 2008 at 05:03 PM. Reason: added infomation
Adam Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 12:19 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Wondering this myself. The guys at Cineform might be the ones to ask. I hope it does as it is a great bang for the buck card for a video guy who likes to game. But being Ati doesn't have this problem (overlay), have cooler running cards with less power requirements, HDMi out standard, and better multi monitor support, Ati is clearly the way to go if you can't afford a Matrox.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 01:04 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I had some weird and vexing problems with a Geforce 7800GT card. Finally broke down, bit the bullet and got a Quadro FX1500. Problems now gone. Don't waste your money. Do it right from the get go.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 04:33 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
I think a Quadro FX1500 is massive over kill for video work as is being discussed (overlay & multi-monitor) . If your doing CAD/3D work then it is appropriate. Otherwise it is money not well spent. A $175 Ati 3850, or $ 225 3870 (both with HDMi out) is the logical way to go.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 06:42 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
Whats this overlay issue you all are talking about? I have an 8600gt and unless im blind I have never noticed it, or maybe im not using an affected program.
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2008, 08:18 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
All I can say is that I was having a lot of corrupted displays with my geforce 7800 GT card and Edius. So many manufacturers recommend the Quadro, including Grass Valley. I finally bit the bullet and am SO glad I did. Faster all the way around, no, none zero corrupted displays. Well worth what I save in aggravation. I avoided getting the quadro, for years, because of idiots who are too cheap to go the distance and I paid the price in aggravation.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2008, 05:42 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
I've never had corrupted displays, never used a Nvidia gaming card for video editing. Quadro brings nothing to the table except a massive $$$. If your rendering Maya all day its great, otherwise its a pure waste of a lot of money. Sorry "idiots" made you buy a gaming card, but lets not give the impression that something so expensive is needed for video work. It isn't, pure and simple.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 10:12 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
So what's a good "video editing card" ?
Not something ridiculously expensive but something most of us can afford and justify buying.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 10:38 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kellett View Post
So what's a good "video editing card" ?
Not something ridiculously expensive but something most of us can afford and justify buying.

Paul.
This so depends on your editor. If it is Avid Liquid 7.2, that would be a ATI 1950 series. Any of the newer 2xxx series and many nVidia cards (especially DX10), do not work well and have problems with green flashs in the renders (GPU).
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2008, 06:16 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
I use Vegas pro 8.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network