Is this laptop going to have enough muscle? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2008, 07:51 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Is this laptop going to have enough muscle?

I need a lap top that will be able to run the following.

- Canon Consule (capturing direct to laptop) from XLH1

- Adobe Premiere CS3 with Cineform Prospect HD

- Adobe After Effects

Perhaps I could add an external Blue Ray later. However, I could always transfer my mastered video to my editing PC to author the blue ray DVD's.

See below.

Extensa Laptop 1.9GHz 2GB 160GB DL DVDRW WiFi

Processor Brand: AMD
Processor: AMD Turion(TM) 64 X2
Processor Speed: 1.9GHz
Display Type: WXGA widescreen LCD with CrystalBrite technology (1280 x 800)
Screen Size: 15.4"
System Bus: Up to 1600MHz
Cache Memory: 512KB + 512KB at die Level 2
System Memory (RAM): 2GB
Type of Memory (RAM): PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Drive Type: Serial ATA (5400 rpm)
Hard Drive Size: 160GB
Optical Drive: Double-layer DVDRW/CD-RW
Digital Media Reader or Slots: Yes, digital media card reader
Graphics: ATI RADEON X1250
Video Memory: Up to 896MB HyperMemory
MPEG: Yes
Modem: 56 Kbps* ITU V.92
Networking: Built-in 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 connector)
Wireless Networking: Built-in high-speed wireless LAN (802.11b/g)
S-Video Outputs: 1
Speakers: Built-in Acer 3DSonic stereo speakers
PCMCIA Slots: 1 ExpressCard/54
USB 2.0 Ports: 4
IEEE 1394 FireWire Ports: 1
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 11:43 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
I really could use some advice here. This will not be my primary video editing machine. I'd like to use it with Console + edit a bit while I travel.

Thanks...
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 12:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Most of the specifications aren't relevant. Those that count are the processor, RAM and hard drive.

Your processor and RAM look fine.

I would get an external hard drive, though, to keep your videos from cluttering/fragmenting the internal system drive.

With one FireWire port, I would choose a USB2.0 external drive to keep the FireWire port free strictly for the camcorder.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 12:39 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
John-

Thanks I appreciate it. If I were to use an external hard drive via USB-2 would it keep up with Premiere CS3 editing?

Also- pardon my lack of computer knowledge... would I be able to connect an external Blue-ray DVD burner at some point?

Thanks again!

Tim
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
During the editing itself - i.e., when you are actively doing stuff at the keyboard - it won't matter much. During rendering/previewing, it *might*. If the rendering etc is pushing both processor cores to the max (i.e., Premiere shows up as using nearly 100% in Task Manager) then the number crunching is the bottleneck. If the processor useage is much less then it indicates a different bottleneck such as the reading to/writing from disk.

You could copy your active files to the internal drive for editing and render out to the external as well as store all the source files you aren't using on the external drive.

I don't know about the Blu-Ray - what interface does it have?
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 01:39 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Ok..

Here are the specs... link

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...Specifications

I'm still trying to determine if I could use an external blue-ray burner at a later date.

Thanks again!
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
A burner like this:

http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?pid=11054

should be fine (it has both USB2.0 and FireWire options).

Whether it will work directly with your software depends on the software.

External Blu-Ray burners seem to be a very rare and expensive commodity right now.

John.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 02:00 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
John-

Thanks again for your help. I'm not sure if I'll ever use a Blue-Ray burner with this laptop. It looks like I could possibly do so if I go down that road.

This burner is a bit pricey...

Thanks again. I really appreciate your help.

Tim
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network