Can I take SD component video from an HD video camera at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2008, 10:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alton IL
Posts: 46
Can I take SD component video from an HD video camera

If I have an hd camera in sd mode, can I use the 3 rca component outs? Will this give me any benefit in picture quality or colorspace?
Dan Gonzales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 07:40 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,502
If an SD+HD camcorder has component output, it operates in the resolution the camera is working in, so yes, if you're filming SD, the component output will deliver SD.

Benefit? Absolutely, the component out is the highest quality you can get out of your camera, higher than firewire.
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 04:37 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Posts: 1,538

Shoot in HD and post in SD is a capability a LOT of us are interested in.

Many of us are looking for this so that we can start shooting and archiving in HD, yet support our client's current lower resolution (SD video, web, iPhone, etc) workflows in the short term.

But the hard fact is that an HD camera has a different pixel raster than is optimal for SD. Each manufacturer is free to figure out their own way to "scale" the HD sensor data down when working in SD mode. So it's up to the design engineer how they do it - for better or worse.

The soon to be released Sony EX3 has a companion hardware deck that I understand will transcode from the HD native video generated by the EX3 directly to Standard Def out in real time. That's something that has a lot of us excited.

It remains to be seen how good the transcoding is. But crunching a bigger HD raster down into a smaller SD raster isn't a trivial matter - and done wrong, is currently NOT as good as simply shooting, editing and mastering all in SD.

I don't know of another HD shooting option (aside from the promise of the EX3) that does this without the need to ingest in camera native HD and transcode/scale the footage down to SD with all the attendant processing/rendering time and hassles.

Bill Davis is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:09 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network