!VERY URGENT! ProRes to PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
!VERY URGENT! ProRes to PC

Got some video in ProRes 422 (1920x1080) - is there any software running on PC that can read and transcode this to anything editable on PC? I would like to avoid borrowing a Mac.

I need to start editing right away, please help.

Thanks,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer

Last edited by Ervin Farkas; July 22nd, 2008 at 07:55 PM.
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 11:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Ervin,

I've been searching around but haven't found anything at all! Sorry.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 12:01 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Thanks to Apple, ProRes is Apple only. No dice on a PC.

If you want to send this to a PC user, I recommend writing to lossless PNG.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 04:34 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
Its not out there... I know Ive pulled myhair out fro weeks trying to get it.
We now moved over to Cineform. Great product and we can work on mac and pc with no problems.
Gary Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 06:30 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Thanks guys

I knew ProRes is Apple's baby, but I was hoping they made the codec available for us Windows users. I am mad with this guy who sent me the files; I told him specifically I am on PC and I will be editing SD... he could have exported from FCP to a bunch of QT formats that a PC can work with, like MJPEG, Animation, or even AVI.

Thanks for the info; I have no choice but to borrow a friend's MacBook. ARGH!
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 09:24 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
Unless that Macbook has Final Cut Pro on it you still will not have the codec.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 10:59 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
I knew ProRes is Apple's baby, but I was hoping they made the codec available for us Windows users. I am mad with this guy who sent me the files; I told him specifically I am on PC and I will be editing SD... he could have exported from FCP to a bunch of QT formats that a PC can work with, like MJPEG, Animation, or even AVI.

Thanks for the info; I have no choice but to borrow a friend's MacBook. ARGH!
I feel your pain. I got HD footage this year from someone using FCE, so ALL the files are in AIC. At least with ProRes you can find someone with a pro setup who can convert for you. Finding someone with FCExpress who can convert 2 hours of footage into anything usable for a PC user is a royal pain. I've had the footage for months now.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 03:55 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
I feel your pain. I got HD footage this year from someone using FCE, so ALL the files are in AIC. At least with ProRes you can find someone with a pro setup who can convert for you. Finding someone with FCExpress who can convert 2 hours of footage into anything usable for a PC user is a royal pain. I've had the footage for months now.
You don't need FCE to deal with AIC, any FCP setup will do.
Chris Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2008, 05:22 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Harris View Post
You don't need FCE to deal with AIC, any FCP setup will do.
Now THAT is good to know. Thank you...
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 08:06 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Back to square one - any progress on this?

Ah, the royal pain... (quote from Peronne)... It's almost eight months later now... any progress on this?

I have, yes, again, a bunch of shows I have to edit on PC - and, yes, again, the wonderful "open platform" Apple product, Prores 422. Don't we all love it...
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 08:27 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
Ah, the royal pain... (quote from Peronne)... It's almost eight months later now... any progress on this?

I have, yes, again, a bunch of shows I have to edit on PC - and, yes, again, the wonderful "open platform" Apple product, Prores 422. Don't we all love it...
Yes, progress.

If you download the lastest version of quicktime on your PC, you should be able to drop your files into your editor. You can't OUTPUT to ProRes, but you should be able to read and edit them.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 08:57 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Wonderful, thanks Peronne. Are you talking about the PRO version or the free one?

Is this something they just implemented in version 7.6?

I have version 7.50.61.0 - came with Edius 5 and will NOT play 422.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 09:21 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Nope, don't need Pro.

You can download the decoder here:

Apple - Downloads - Application Updates - Apple ProRes QuickTime Decoder 1.0 for Windows

Or just download the latest version of Quicktime and you're all set. It even works with ProResHQ. I've dropped both into Vegas in the past 30 days without issue.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 06:27 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
This is by far the best news I got in quite a while.

I chose the safe route and downloaded the PRORES update instead of the new QuickTime, and it works as expected.

Both Edius and Procoder can now read PRORES 422 - I already transcoded a one hour file overnight to NTSC.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 07:46 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
This is by far the best news I got in quite a while.

I chose the safe route and downloaded the PRORES update instead of the new QuickTime, and it works as expected.

Both Edius and Procoder can now read PRORES 422 - I already transcoded a one hour file overnight to NTSC.

Yes, A major step forward in interoperability. Just wish it hadn't taken Apple two dang years to do it. And we still can't write it to give files back... I guess they WANT to give business to Avid.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network