DVCAM, DV and 35mm at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2003, 05:10 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 4
DVCAM, DV and 35mm

I just finished shooting a film and the telecine process is shipping me my dailies on DVCAM.

A small group of filmmakers who are wanting to know how to edit, have gathered together and asked me to teach them for 3 day course on editing.

I've never made a DV project or even worked with DV as a medium so I really need some help here.

My question is this:

All I have, as far as the DV world goes, is a cannon xl1. Can I playback DVCAM recdorded media through an XL1?
Darrin Fletcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 05:21 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Unless the shop made the dupe onto mini-cassette, DV or DVCam, you cannot fit the cassette into the camera in the first place. I don't know if a XL1 will read DVCam. Probably but you should ask this question in the Canon forum. Perhaps the wrangler for this forum will move it there for you.

I'd have thought they would offer you VHS with a window burn with film footage.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 05:36 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Well, usually they would ship it to us in BetaSP format.

As it is, they are shipping it to us on the DV tape but its been recorded using DVCAM format.
Darrin Fletcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 06:58 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
It will not playback on an XL1 or XL1s, or any Canon DV camera (to the best of my knowledge. Prosumer Sony cameras, as well as some higher end Panasonic cameras and decks have that capability.
Get the tapes dubbed to mini DV or borrow a Sony for your workshop.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 07:07 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
What NLE are you using?

Do you need to teach the filmmakers the art of editing or also the process of cutting their film?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 08:10 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 4
We will be using Final Cut 4 because it's pretty much the only one that will cut a film and prepare it for the negative cutters.

I think I'll ask the telecine house to give them to me in an additional format... just plain old DV as well as the DVCAM
Darrin Fletcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 08:51 PM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Be sure to specify the DV format (not DVCAM) on Mini-DV cassettes so that they'll play back on your XL1.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 09:42 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Why get (mini-)DVCAM in the first place? It's advantage over mini-DV is less chance of dropouts, maybe improved durability, and locked audio. None of these really help you. The video quality is the same. see Adam Wilt's DV FAQ for more info on the differences between DVCAM and mini-DV.

http://www.lafcpug.org/phorum/read.php?f=1&i=34161&t=34161
for Final Cut Pro help, check out the LA FCP user group's forum. That link is to a thread discussing using cinema Tools with FCP.

Final Cut Pro 4 is still buggy right now, but most of the showstopping bugs (loss of sync on video output, not being able to use compressor) won't affect you. Some of the features in it could help you out a lot (like native 24p editing).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2003, 11:15 PM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Well, the quality doesn't really concern me, as long at the timecode is the same as my film the it doesn't matter. We're dumping back to film so all I need is an acurate EDL list.

The timecode would remain the same, correct? I'll ask Laser Pacific if they can simply dump to DV... that will work, correct?
Darrin Fletcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 12:58 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
If you mean you are going to edit your footage in video and then create an edit instruction list based on the film footage marks, FCP is not the only tool. Avid and several other editing systems offer that capability.

What I'm hearing here is that you really need to find someone who has done this before. You can get way down the Post path and find that the work cannot be transferred as you expect. Given the cost of 35mm shooting, the cost of an expert to at least consult with you seems almost necessary.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 07:02 AM   #11
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Yes, some Avids can do what you propose (Symphony), but it's a lot more money. I looked into this several years ago and I could buy four FCP systems for the price of one Symphony. DV Xpress is not film capable. There is another Avid system that can be used with film editing, (Xpress Pro, not released yet, but due soon) but you need to purchase additional software. This thread may offer some additional insight into the Avid solution.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 11:55 AM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
The price or rental of the Symphony will quickly disappear in the grand scheme of shooting a feature in 35mm.

I'm not claiming superiority for either product but I am pointing out that some professional advice would greatly speed their get-along.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2003, 12:17 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 581
Darrin,

Yes, ask Laser Pacific because they'll know. But your timecode should be fine and FCP can handle the sync problems as you know but I would let them know what you're doing in case there's a gotcha somewhere.
Rob Belics is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network