analog captures weird avi at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 25th, 2008, 04:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maynard MA
Posts: 40
analog captures weird avi

I have a capture device (cheap!) that works- takes VCR video/audio and makes avi's that play on WMP. BUT if I try to edit in Vegas or Premiere or whatever, the avi is seen as audio only! I have a workaround by using Virtualdub and saving as "old avi". Any thoughts? Should I spring for a non cheap capture device (this thing works fine, except for having to transcode every clip which is not quick!)

thanks...
Ron Labbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 06:20 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
It's using it's own proprietary codec, this means it will not be recognized by these editors. It's good you found a transcoding solution but that just compresses your footage even more. The only solution I can think of is to get a AV-DV like a Canopus ADVC series box. Just capture like you capture a DV tape.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 07:30 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maynard MA
Posts: 40
Thanks... it says it's a YUY2 codec. It plays fine in VLC or WMP... odd. I may get one of the USB connectors for $50 or so to save the transcoding pain!
Ron Labbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 07:33 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 11
.AVI is not a standard format, it is a container/shell/carrier which can contain almost anything. MiniDV produces DV AVI (D25). Other common .AVI files are DivX, Xvid, MJPEG, MPEG4, Cinepak and GoMotion.

You have to get editor to use the proper codec.



Rich
Rich Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 07:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maynard MA
Posts: 40
Yes, I understand various codecs need to be installed for editors to work, but I'm surprised players work fine, but not the editors (maybe if I install the YUY2 codec??)

thanks
Ron Labbe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network