firewire in, component out? - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 26th, 2003, 07:45 PM   #16
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
It's hard to say about the misuse of digitize. It's use in video production dates back to early Avid days, when digitize meant to get the footage on to your drives. Of course, most the footage went through an A to D conversion and was digitized. From a purely electronic stand point almost any encoding, decoding and transcoding of different formats involves the material being changed from analog to digital. It was confusing your wanting to transcode from one format to another and not wanting to digitize.

However all I need is output, not digitizing, so I have been looking for a less expensive solution.
I was confused by wanting output, but not wanting to digitize.
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem

Search for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2003, 05:51 AM   #17
Major Player
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Boyd, I am with you when you question the availability of component outputs on DV equipments. Of course this is pure market protection from Sony and others. "Components is what you need for best image quality" That's what we read and hear everyday in the DVD world, and indeed cheap DVD'd have component outputs...But DVD's are not supposed to be fed into the (overpriced) broadcast chain... So there is no risk that a simular equip as Sony's DSR45 is going to be replaced by a 10 times cheaper DV vcr. B.T.W DAC-2 is a good alternative (not made by Sony!!). For some waveforms see
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2003, 01:30 PM   #18
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Digitize means to convert something to a digital form.

Started way back before Avid IIRC.
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2003, 02:16 AM   #19
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 164
Other solutions...


there are quite often second hand Pinnacle Reeltime cards going cheap on Ebay. These will convert 1394 to component analogue on the fly, and also capture analogue and 1394 etc etc.

I got one for 200 recently, and use it for high quality component capture for greenscreen.


Julian Luttrell is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network