Problem with panasonic rec nv-dv2000 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2002, 07:07 AM   #1
Posts: n/a
Problem with panasonic rec nv-dv2000

I use Avid Xpress DV version: 3.0
I can't capture anything with this recorder.
Uniformatly, the recoder is recognized as 'GENERIC DEVICE PAL'; i can't control it with axdv3.0.
The unique alert message is :
I've selected manual options : Passive, and DV mode, INPUT select is on DV2.Dv cable connected on DV2, and DV SELECT is on 2. I've tested with all option to 1, it don't work anymore!!
I've a ADS pyro 1394DV PCMCIA. The system is win2k SP3.

Who can help me? I 'm crasy with that problem!!

  Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2002, 08:40 AM   #2
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Here are a few things to try.

I do not have the ADS Pyro system. But here a few things to try.

1. Is the cam in VCR mode? (it should be)

2. Go to control panel>System>hardware>hardware wizard. Check to see that you firewire port is working properly.

3. Can you copy cam-to-cam via the firewire port?

4. Does you cam work with any other computers' firewire ports?

5. Do any other firewire cams work with you computer?

6. You system is reporting 'generic pal device.' Again, I am not familar with the software, but is your system thinking that the cam you have is a pal cam? That's okay if you live in pal land, but if your in ntsc, that could be a problem.

Hope this helps,
Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2002, 08:45 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
I use a DV2000 with a MAC & FCP and it works OK. Try controlling your DV camera with the firewire cable -- does it work? If so, then your IEEE port is OK. If you're having trouble Printing to Tape, try first putting the DV2000 in the record mode, then pressing Pause. I had to do that when using EditDV. The PAL version should work the same as the NTSC model. Finally, does Avid list the DV2000 as a supported device? A call to tech support might help. Good luck.
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2002, 09:04 AM   #4
Posts: n/a
Tanks for responses MRs,

I've tryed something like 5 differents cables as 6 to 4 and 4 to 4... So i'm sure problem it's not the cable....
The DV2000 works perfectly with MGI VideoWave version 5 on my PC...and with a matrox DV 2000 firewire connect on another PC...
My system is in pal.
In panel>System>hardware>hardware wizard, it is Ok.
I've also tryed with a adaptec firewire PCMCIA card, and with the IEEE1394 port direct on PC.........
Finaly, DV2000 is compatible with AVID XPRESS DV 3.0(it is on theirs websites support).


Last edited by Chris Hurd; March 24th, 2002 at 07:11 PM.

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network