Mini-DV tapes in LP dubbed to SP???? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 8th, 2003, 02:34 PM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Mini-DV tapes in LP dubbed to SP????

I am wrapping up my DVD, and want to include some scenes I cut down drastically, calling them extended scenes (we have no deleted scenes). Only problem is, the old cuts of the film are in LP mode on one 120 minute mini-dv Panasonic tape.

To have both of my tapes dubbed to four SP tapes (mini-dv) at this rip-off place, I'll need to cough up $200!!!!!!

So, how can I dub over a mini-dv tape(s) that was recorded in LP to SP? Is it possible? Do I need to go into my FCP system (I ahve 3.0.4)?

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 02:46 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just connect two cameras, or camera and deck, together via firewire, push play on the source and record on the blank tape. Make sure the recording deck is set to SP.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 03:11 PM   #3
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Hmm, that didn't work when I tried my XL-1 to my HD10 and vice versa. Did I do something wrong?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 05:50 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Read the manual and see if the HD10 can even do DV in. Or ask Steve Mullen, the moderator.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:16 PM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
That's a good point. Thanks!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:21 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 328
The XL1 (all models) can do DV in, so perhaps that should be the record deck. You say that didn't work, which is strange.
Ted Springer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:33 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I have a strange feeling the HD 10, because of being HD video, may not be able to do the conversion from/to SD video. Just a guess.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:34 PM   #8
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Don't forget, this is LP coming out of the camera.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network