SD or HD + Conversion? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2009, 04:45 AM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 1
SD or HD + Conversion?


My camera (Sony HVR-A1E) shoots in DV or HDV and offers a download conversion of HDV to DV, my ultimate output after editing is SD.

If I shoot in HDV and down-convert to DV will I get a better picture than shooting in DV ?


Robin Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2009, 05:34 AM   #2
New Boot
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fleet, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 11
There are AIUI many reasons to master in HDV on the A1, if you archive all your shots in tape in HDV you will always have the opportunity to re-master in HDV at a later date.

I've read that the A1 down converts the HD signal when shooting in SD rather than at the sensor.

Personally I am mastering in HDV and down converting the output as required in edit.
Darren Griffin
Editor,, Sony HVR-A1U
Darren Griffin is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network