Green Screening - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2004, 03:04 AM   #16
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That's like asking where you can buy a car and how expensive
that is (without stating anything else).

There are a ton of different blue/green/orange and whatnot
screens out there. You can even get official paint for the color
or try to get some similar color from a local paint shop.

One of our site sponsors (which has the main site down at the
moment, so I'm linking to their Yahoo store) has a small portable
version as well: http://store.yahoo.com/bhphotovideop...gc67g-reg.html
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2004, 09:02 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, Fl
Posts: 243
<<<-- Originally posted by David Woodland : Where can I purchase a green screen. I hardly know anything about green/blue/red screens but I would like to learn them so I can apply them to a new rollerblading film I'm working on. Also, how expensive are they? -->>>

I got mine from Ross. Bright green bed sheets were on sale. = ]
Dustin Waits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2004, 04:38 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 439
after effects benefits from the ultimatte keyer plug-in... the color key function doesn't serve very well... I bought Discreet*s combustion and was blown away by the keyer. Out of the box it rocks. I'd suggest looking at Combustion 3... if you're on a G5 it's 64bit to boot!
(Still like the timeline in AE tho!)
Josh Brusin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 03:43 AM   #19
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Isn't that quite a pricey package (combustion)? Some people have
reported good success with builtin keyers in NLE's if you first
color correct the greenscreen to flatten the color range.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 04:23 AM   #20
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
Rob, occassionally discreet offers deals that halve the price in addition to bundling plugins and complementary applications, making combustion attractive to the same sorts of DV enthusiasts that would buy, for example, Premiere Pro or After Effects.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 05:38 AM   #21
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Interesting to know Robert, thanks! Combustion is a very nice
application. But quite complex, keep that in mind (not a one
button application so to speak).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 08:55 PM   #22
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
I find it easier to learn, use, and manage than After Effects.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 10:30 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
If you want to just start experimenting with bluescreen/greenscreen work, here's a tutorial for building a large, inexpensive screen yourself.
A portable version is also shown.

I'm planning on getting Combustion later this year myself, but for now, Media Studio Pro has been doing a fair job of processing the composites.

Have fun.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 05:21 AM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark
Posts: 133
The people behind the inexpensive special effects software AlamDV have also recently released "The Chromanator".

I haven't tried it myself, but just thought I would add a link. You can probably find someone here with experience with it.

http://fxhome.com/
Hans Henrik Bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2004, 05:47 AM   #25
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
Thanks for sharing your tutorial, Nick.

As much success as you've had with Ulead, I think you will love the step up from MSP to combustion.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2004, 08:17 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
Thanks for the feedback Robert.
Yeah, I'm looking forward to it. Just need some time for my bank account to recover from a GL2 purchase back in Dec. :)

I have looked into Chromanator.
Looks like it would be good if you have only an editor like Premiere or Vegas (just basic compositing features) and don't want to invest much in compositing.
I tried the demo, though and found that it's pretty limited in functionality right now. My existing editor was able to pull keys with the same quality or better so I decided to just keep saving up for Combustion.

Have fun.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2004, 05:29 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 439
I got Combustion last August for about $800... came with a free upgrade to version 3.... great service albeit a weird authorizing process.... autodesk is the parent company.
For straight keying it buries FCP... Ultimatte is pretty good but since C* is sooo good I have no reason to mess with AE for keying (same thing goes for color correcting. C* rocks... would like to buy magic bullet but see no reason right now- look forward to exploring it as I'm a software junkie).
C* is more compatible with AE prod which is more expensive in the first place $1400ish not to mention ultimatte, magic bullet, other plug-ins... on the upside most plug-ins work in C*...
Josh Brusin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2004, 06:25 PM   #28
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
What keeps me from doing any more business with Autodesk is what happened with my copy of AutoCAD. I'd been an Autodesk customer since they started the company. In fact, I jointly developed a product with them way back when.

Around AC 10, they decided that their customers HAD to upgrade whenever Autodesk told them to or they no longer qualified for upgrade pricing. Upgrade prices would then equal the price of a new copy of AutoCAD. Arrogance the likes of which I'd not seen since Ashton-Tate if you remember them.

Needless to say, I purchased my CAD software from a different company. May your experience with them be different.

Adobe, OTOH, willingly upgraded my Academic version of AE to a commercial license for just the price of an upgrade.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2004, 04:32 PM   #29
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 439
that sucks...
I just got off the phone with avid about upgrading a DV Xpress station that missed the "deadline" to upgrade... parallel dongle 1.5 NT version. I am a FCP user but figured I'd call them to see if they'd give me an upgrade as it was unregistered. No dice. As far as I can tell every software package - from Flash to Photoshop have upgrade rules. Did autocad restrict your use of your existing package? That would be odd an unacceptable.
Josh Brusin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2004, 05:03 PM   #30
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
No but of course they provide no support whatsoever for that version so it is just a bit obsolete.

I don't/won't deal with Avid or Meda 100 for that same reason. When it came time to upgrade the schools Media 100 system, it was cheaper to buy a New G4 with FCP than to upgrade that lose system of unreliable programs that they called a Media 100. It wasn't cheap to start with, cost a fair amount for required annual maintenance (the only way one could get upgrades) and the reliability and performance was dismal. Nice video though.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network