Digital Video.. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2003, 06:23 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden - Helsingborg
Posts: 283
Digital Video..

I have som questions for those who have experience with larger digital video camera like DigiBeta.

When you load you video in to the computer? is it done by FireWire? What format and compression do you get and edit with?
DV= DV Codec. But I can't see how that would fit to a Digi Beta?
Do you edit and render it as an uncompressed videofile?

DV is about 13-14 gigs per hour, what about digibeta?


/Andreas
Andreas Fernbrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2003, 06:34 AM   #2
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
DigiBeta uses a motionJpeg type codec at 50% compression. At those rates, it's practically lossless. It is generally connected to a computer NLE via SDI, and output via SDI. The SDI does not carry the "dub" signal (the compressed version of the video data) like with firewire, but a fully uncompressed 4:2:2 SMPTE 601 video stream, and hence is generally edited uncompressed.

SDI can carry the dub signal on other formats - BetaCamSX and (perhaps HDCAM will give access to the dub signal) because it can be used as a wrapper for any video data stream that fits within it's bandwidth.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2003, 06:49 AM   #3
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
SDI and FireWire are just pipelines. You can send whatever signal will fit within their bandwidths. Manufactures are adding FireWire compatibility to many of their new camera models. Transcoders are available to convert many different signals, using FireWire and SDI.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2003, 07:07 AM   #4
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
Yes - with boxes like the AJA IO, you can transmit uncompressed video over firewire - it has the bandwidth to cope.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2003, 10:30 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 64
Just to point something out though... even though you can transfer "uncompressed" video through a FireWire or SDI link, you're still getting only what you would have gotten if you had copied the DV or MJPEG stream directly and then converted to uncompressed 4:2:2 on your computer. Once it's compressed (as it is when it's stored to tape), you're not getting the information back that it threw away to compress it.

Speaking of which... if DigiBeta only compresses 50%, why not use something like the HuffYUV codec which is lossless and compresses around 2:1?
Jon Yurek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 06:05 PM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That's a good question Jon. Might have to do with bit allocation
and colorspaces. But then again I know everbody is using MJPEG,
it has been around for a long time.

Yes, we edit in DV. Our DV camera's encode directly to DV (25 mbps)
and this information gets transferred over the firewire in its
native compressed format.

So the capture is in fact just a "copy". On the computer we edit
this footage indeed with a DV "codec".
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2003, 05:56 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 8
clarify me....

does this mean there is no compression or decompression between the tape and the harddrive? i mean to say - when i capture into fcp4 via firewire from my gl2, is there no real codec being used? the appleDV codec that is used is really just for playback on the computer, right? is there a codec built into the camera for it to playback the digital tapes, or through the analog output? maybe i'm confused. hmm....
__________________
dB.

Cannon GL-2
Sennheisser k6: ME64, ME66
FCP4 on a G4

Life is one big gamble. You just have to choose your bets.
Dan Bohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2003, 06:15 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
The apple codec does 2 things: COmpress, and DECompress. When you are playing back DV footage on the timeline, it decompresses the DV footage into a format that plays on your monitor.

Suppose you add some effects to your footage. FCP decompresses the footage, applies the effects, then compresses the footage using the Apple DV codec.

Cameras/decks should have some sort of codec built in presumably (to play back and record DV).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2003, 09:59 PM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
does this mean there is no compression or decompression between the tape and the harddrive? i mean to say - when i capture into fcp4 via firewire from my gl2, is there no real codec being used?
This is TRUE. It is simply a file copy from the tape to the hard drive via a firewire connection. NO codec is involved in this process.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2003, 08:52 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 56
DigiBeta

Graeme mentioned that "DigiBeta uses a motionJpeg type codec at 50% compression. At those rates, it's practically lossless". This must be 1/4 or less compression than MiniDV. Is this a major reason why big camera productions have so much better qualilty than those shot with MiniDV. Also is this the key big camera format or are there others?
Ben Wiens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2003, 10:28 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 8
thanks for the help

i appreciate the answers everyone. definitely helped to clear up some questions. just one last semi-related question. all the talk about lossless editing, that not mini-dv is it? are they talking about larger format cameras? even older analog cameras at times?
__________________
dB.

Cannon GL-2
Sennheisser k6: ME64, ME66
FCP4 on a G4

Life is one big gamble. You just have to choose your bets.
Dan Bohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network