JVC GR-PD1 and S-Spline, a marriage made in Heaven? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2004, 09:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
JVC GR-PD1 and S-Spline, a marriage made in Heaven?

I'm reading a lot of excellent reviews about the GR-PD1's 25p image. Apparently, the camera downsamples 1,280 x 659 reolsution to 720 x 576. The result, every review that I've come across has nothing but impressive things to say about its image. Now, since the camera doesn't output a 1280 x 720 image, I was wondering if it would marry well with S-Spline. Just a thought. I'm simply looking in to low cost options for coming up with 1280 x 720 25p or 24p footage. I already know that the DVX100 with S-Spline is one option.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 05:43 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm not an expert on this camera or s-pline, but you will never
get the full resolution back, ofcourse. It might yield very good
results, but it will never be the same signal as it was in its native
1280x659 form.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 07:34 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 31
Hello Rob, are you saying that it is possible to get 1280 X 659 footage out of the GR-PD1 because I recently purchased the camera and feel very annoyed as I was led to believe this was the case from a number of reviews, but the supplied capture software will only get files at 720 X 576, If this information is not correct I have been disinformmed about the Camera and I need to return it obtain a re-fund and order thje HD1 from the states. The retialer I brought the camera from will only give me a refund if I can prove that the Camera does not shoot footage at 1280 X 659 pixels and record this to the tape in this form without prior downconversion to 720 X 576.
On another note how is the Hi-Res mode any higher resolution than the PS50 mode as both modes have exactly the same pixel dimensions, 720X576, they are the exact same resolution, how can you then define one of these modes as Hi-Res as it has exactly the same resolution as the PS50 mode. Resolution is defined by pixel dimensions at actual size not effective pixel resolution prior to downsample, if I print an A4 page from an A3 original I cant say that this page will have any higher resolution than another A4 document, both consist of the exact same number of pixels.

One very annoyed JVC customer.

PS why do we need this camera to be PAL? HD is HD there's no such thing as NTSC HD and PAL HD. JVC UK remind me of the IT manufacturers with this darkside marketing strategy. PS no customer is going to buy this camera to shoot DV, whats the point go and get a DVX-100 or an XL1s, there gonna want it to shoot HD.
Sam Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 08:01 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
I'm with you Sam...I first thought this camera could shoot Hi Def, but it can't. The camera has been crippled so that the original Hi Def resolution is down sampled to 720 x 576. Better get your money back.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 11:05 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
No no no. As said I'm not expert with this camera so I have no
idea in what it is recording or what's possible or not. I was just
stating that if you have a low resolution and you are going to
interpolate to a resolution it originated on (inside the camera in
this case) then it will not retain the original resolution. It might
look better than a normal SD camera, but it will not get back to
original quality so to speak.

Sam, you cannot compare the analog world to the digital. A pixel
is a pixel. If you copy an A3 to an A4 it might have more resolution
then the otherway around, but that depends on what resolution
was available when the image was put on paper and also how
fine the paper is. Pixels are just pixels. If you down or up convert
you will always loose resolution. You cannot compare it to an
analog copy.

And why the camera's are still using PAL / NTSC? My guess would
be that since a lot of TV's around the world are still using these
standard camera's will be using them for a long time to come
as well (chicken & egg problem). Also, the DV standard only
allows for PAL or NTSC. That's it. The standard would have to
be altered to include new formats or a new standard would have
to be invented. If they just would change this @ JVC then no
DV codec on the market today would probably read such a
signal!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network