Steady Move...anyone use it? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2004, 05:59 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Steady Move...anyone use it?

http://www.steadymove.com/default.htm
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 06:10 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Keep in mind that any software that stabilizes footage needs to
zoom in (basically) depending on how much the shake is to
be able to stabilize it. In this process you are going to loose
resolution due to this process. Just so that you know.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 07:24 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Ahh, I knew there had to be a catch.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 09:08 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Of course...the company claims the following..

"You should not notice a loss of quality with any type of footage." I guess I may have to buy it, just to try it (they don't have a demo version.) Unless someone else has already tried it...
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 10:07 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Found a review

http://videosystems.com/ar/video_steadymove_pro/
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 11:45 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Seems to be a decent plugin. Only works on Premiere / After
Effects and Combustion though. It normally requires to zoom in
and the reviewer noticed the footage getting softer with this
(normal behaviour). It also seemed like you had the option to
not zoom in, that's interesting although might not always be
useful.

The reviewer claims there is a demo version of the product
included with Premiere Pro. So if you have that you can at
least check it out before you buy it. 2d3 has some other nice
products as well.

You can actually download a demo it seems. From the 2d3
site. Follow this link
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 02:13 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
Thanks Rob...now I have to wait till I get my NLE...
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 02:50 PM   #8
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
Check out steady hand by Dynapel--its as good as steady move and it doesn't require Premiere to run
David Mintzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 06:28 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles (recently from San Francisco)
Posts: 954
I have Steadyhand by Dynapel, and it's pretty good -- as others have mentioned, it works by zooming in, or cropping.

Steadymove is interesting, though. I haven't had a lot of time to play with it, but it seems to work by time transposition, i.e. taking elements from one frame that go missing in the next due to shake. If I'm right about how it works, the result would, indeed, be no-resolution-loss stabilization and is a pretty clever solution to mild shaking.

I probably won't be able to play with it for a few days, but I'll report back when I've done some more experiments. I need to look at the stabilized footage frame-by-frame.
Paul Tauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 06:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
That would be great Paul, looking forward to your evaluation.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 11:36 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
I used Steady Hand extensively on a recent project.
First off you should know that rendering takes
quite awhile. One hour of footage takes about
24 hours.
So after about 3 straight days of rendering
I got to take a look at the results.
My footage had people in it. It looked okay
on the monitor but when I viewed it full
size on a TV, the faces were distorted
with small blockiness, and the
hit to resolution was high enough, that I had to
trash the whole Steady Hand footage.
*Maybe* if there weren't people. *Maybe*
in some other situation. If I get any other
impressions, I'll get back.
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2004, 01:08 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
In all fairness, I should add that the footage that I
Steadyhanded was deinterlaced, so there was a
good loss of resolution to begin with, prior to
the Steadyhand. Perhaps on
interlaced footage things would be different.
There are different settings in Steadyhand
for if your footage is interlaced or not.
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2004, 10:48 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 331
The SteadyMove plugin from 2D3 included in PPro is the "lite" version. It can be upgraded to Pro with a lot more features. 2D3 is an extremely impressive company. Some of the stuff they are doing is mindboggeling. I haven't tried the Pro version but the Lite version can produce pretty impressive results.
__________________
Martin Munthe
VFX Supervisor/DP/Director
Martin Munthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2004, 08:37 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles Ca
Posts: 126
SteadyMove is awesome...i've only messed around with it, but it seems to do wonders. The more wobbly the footage, the more it has to zoom to correct it, although, you can adjust the amount it zooms. you can also tell it to not zoom at all, and you will see the corners of the image bounce around the frame, which is kinda neat in itself. i recommend giving the demo a shot.
__________________
Rich Lee

http://www.rich-lee.com
Rich Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2004, 01:36 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
SteadyHand is the same way, though with only one
zoom setting. It gets the "moving around
black borders", too.
Any y'all ever see what happens when one
of these -- atleast the SteadyHand -- has to
deal with a photographer's flash? Pretty
crazy. Spinning images. Upside-down images.
Really throws these programs for a loop.
Dave Largent is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network