building a computer for recording mulitple cameras at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 6th, 2004, 10:47 AM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: lyndhurst, nj
Posts: 4
building a computer for recording mulitple cameras

I am looking for the right hardware and software to bulid a computer that will use 2 cameras to record at the same time and then be able to simultaneously roll both recordings back in a split screen to compare differrent angles of the subject. I have found the matrox rt.x100 has slow motin capability but is that the only card out there that does slow motion. Plus what is the best software, adobe premiere or another product for the split screen as well as drawing lines and circles around the subject.
Vince Cuviello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2004, 06:52 PM   #2
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
You are talking about hardware switching and special effects. Not at all cheap. They can now driven by computers but they are out of sight budget wise.

Regular live to tape recording systems only put a single camera (or split) camera images to a recording. Many in's, one out.

Slow motion from a NLE isn't realtime in the sense you mean it.

Best to run two cameras separately and record two separate video streams (to disk if you wish) and then combine the tapes in a NLE in the way you wish.
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 10:45 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 188
check out VT3 from NewTek

Stephen Schleicher
Stephen Schleicher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2004, 08:51 AM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,726
It depends whether you want realtime playback or it sounds like you want to edit later. MOst NLE's will allow you to do PiP and highlight with overlay areas of interest in edit. As an example I have a Canopus DVRaptor RT2 which has record utility that allows up to 3 video feeds to be recorded simultaniously. In premiere these can be placed on the timeline in a 3 picture PiP and played back realtime. IT is easy to highlight a section using a graphic with transparency on the next higher track in Premiere. I usually have tape in the cameras but my Athlon XP2500 has no problem capturing 3 cameras at the same time to hard drive. I believe the capture utility will work as long as there is video input not just tape running.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2004, 10:52 AM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Ask Edward Troxel how he made his Vegas 4 training DVDs. He has multiple views on them and I "heard" he used multiple instances of Vegas to capture several cameras at the same time.
Guy Bruner is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network