Why interlace? an interesting question... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2004, 03:09 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 424
an interesting question...

Why are tv's interlaced? I mean it just seems like having progressive scan would be easier, but I could be wrong. Could someone please explain where interlace came from and why it is still in use today.
Riley Harmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2004, 03:46 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,735
Images: 513
Howdy from Texas,

The short answer is that interlace reduces flicker.

I went to Google and plugged in: NTSC history television interlace

Here are some interesting hits which will answer your question in much greater detail:




-- hope this helps,

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network