Program Dropping frames when capturing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2009, 08:07 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 18
Program Dropping frames when capturing

Sometimes when I am capturing video the program drops frames. This causes the video to appear jumpy and looks BAD. Is this a software issue, a camera issue, or a tape issue?

Before you ask, I am using a Canon GL-2 with Panasonic tapes and Pinnacle Studio 12.

Thanks for any help you can offer!
Chris Mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 08:32 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Mier View Post
Sometimes when I am capturing video the program drops frames. This causes the video to appear jumpy and looks BAD. Is this a software issue, a camera issue, or a tape issue?

Before you ask, I am using a Canon GL-2 with Panasonic tapes and Pinnacle Studio 12.

Thanks for any help you can offer!
I'm guessing you're capturing via firewire? If so, it's the software dropping the frames.

Generic advice is to make sure any unneccessary programs aren't running to give the capture application maximum CPU availability.
Gene Gajewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 09:05 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
I second that. Restart the computer, make sure nothing is running except Pinnacle, and don't use the computer until the importing is finished. Also try turning off the import preview. That helps sometimes.

Greg
Greg Donovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 09:30 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 18
Thanks, will try that.

Should I use soomething other than firewire?
Chris Mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 09:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, NS, Canada
Posts: 53
No, you need to use firewire.

Greg
Greg Donovan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2009, 12:37 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 140
While certain programs like antivirus can cause this, sometimes it is the Firewire cable. I bought a cheap one in the beginning and had these dropouts. Unfortunately, not all Firewire cables are equal and getting a good one can help avoid this.
Ken Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 08:53 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 18
Can I use a Portable Hard drive?

I am shooting with 2 GL-2's, one on a tripod and one on a glidecam 2000, and was wondering if I could use a portable harddrive while taping? Would this help with the frame dropping issue?
Chris Mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 09:09 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
WinDV (freeware) is one of the few DV capture apps that uses a memory buffer, which can help prevent dropped frames:

WinDV
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 12:02 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Mier View Post
I am shooting with 2 GL-2's, one on a tripod and one on a glidecam 2000, and was wondering if I could use a portable harddrive while taping? Would this help with the frame dropping issue?
If your editing software can import the file then do it - save time (don't need to capture) and no more drop frame.
Tuy Le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 01:52 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 18
Follow-up to prev post

Will the camera also record to tape as well?
Chris Mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 07:54 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Getting something like a FireStore is a fairly expensive way to deal with the issue of your computer dropping frames while capturing, and really doesn't resolve whatever the issue is with your computer in the first place (a bit like buying bottled water because your faucet doesn't work). Likely causes include a badly fragmented hard drive and excessive bloatware running in the background. Whatever is causing the dropped frames, the issue(s) should be put to rest, regardless of doing anything else.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network