Filmstrip (.FLM) format in Photoshop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2004, 01:09 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
Filmstrip (.FLM) format in Photoshop

My computer seems to have trouble working with Filmstrip files in Photoshop. The same files that load in mere seconds in After Effects take ten minutes to load in Photoshop.

My configuration: AhtlonXP 2000 Mhz, 500 Mb RAM, Plenty of harddrive space.

What would make it go faster? I am thinking about buying 500 Mb more RAM, but since the filmstrips are sometimes more than 1000 Mb, I do not know if that would really do the trick. Suggestions?
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2004, 11:33 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 280
more RAM usually helps, I have about 2 gigs on my compositing workstation and it handles large files quite well. I'm a combustion / digital fusion guy though, so i've never found the need to deal with film strip files. Your other option (and i'd still suggest the memory upgrade if your motherboard can take it) is to export the filmstrips as smaller segments so that you CAN have one file loaded completely into memory while your working on it.
__________________
Casey Visco
Glidecam Industries, Inc.

Casey Visco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2004, 05:07 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
Yes, i will get more RAM soon.

But, I have noticed that Photoshop used gigantic amounts of temp harddrive space - often with 4 Gb free on the disc, I will get a "out of disc cache" error after a while (which is usually solved by purging all). I can not turn of Photoshop virtual memory (you need to list at least one cache disc).

Oh well, I will try with more RAM first. Thanks for responding Casey.
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2004, 10:39 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 280
Well, there are other options, I'm not sure exactly what you're doing that you need to export film strips to photoshop, but you may be able to find a more elegant (and easier) solution in After Effects or another motion paint/compositing app.
__________________
Casey Visco
Glidecam Industries, Inc.

Casey Visco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2004, 03:04 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WA-USA
Posts: 371
vegas
__________________
The glory of the World passes by.
John Gaspain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2004, 01:32 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
Are you suggesting I go to Vegas to gamble for a new computer? Daddy needs a new pair of harddrives!

I guess I will just use smaller filmstrip segments. Thanks for the replies John and Casey.
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network