320 Iso at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2004, 01:24 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Detroit MI
Posts: 253
320 Iso

Is it safe to say that most video cameras are industry rated at 320 ISO? I've heard this about a few cameras including the XL1 and even the CineAlta.

Also why aren't ISO ratings marked on cameras instead of decibels?
__________________
ScapeFilms.com | My Photography | IMDB Profile
Mike Tesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2004, 02:10 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
ISO (International Standards Organization) in this context, is a rating of films sensitivity to light. ISO insures that films labeled 400 ISO are the same in light sensitivity. Imagine if each manufacture of film had their own numbering system.

Video is not film and electronic signal are measured in decibels, volts, signal to noise ratio etc., but not ISO. Film responds in a very linear fashion except at the extremes in timed exposure (over a second or two and over 1/10,000 of a second), while video typically does not. Applying various camera settings effects the image, such as sharpness, white balance, cine gamma etc. So, it would be very difficult to apply a film standard to video in this regard. Many people attempt to correlate the two mediums using handheld meters and exposing scenes under similar lighting conditions. At best the 320 IS0 rating is an approximation and under many conditions is inaccurate.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2004, 12:00 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 327
Jeff- you are dead on. The "ISO" on a video camera is variable-- it chages as you change the settings of the camera.

Mike- if you want to be able to use an exposure meter with your dv camera, there is a way that will get you *ROUGH* readings. You may want a second opinion as I am a little shaky on this, but here it goes:

Set your camera shutter priority so that it will automate the exposure (make auto gain is off). Evenly light an 18% Grey card and fill your frame with it. Take a reading with your meter (I've used a digital incident meter for this, but you can use anything). Make sure the meter's shutter speed/ frame rate is set at 24FPS for 24p or 30FPS for 30p/60i. Once youve taken the reading, cycle through the ISO settings until you see the F stop that matches what your camera is displaying. Which ever ISO setting you landed on is the approximate F- stop for your camera. I found my Xl-1 to be roughly ISO 250. Of course, changing the shutter speed, frame rate, gain setting, etc. will mean that the ISO has changed. I find using a meter completely impractical while actually shooting, but it can be quite useful on location scouts and for pre-lighting as long as you determine you camera settings ahead of time.
Matt Irwin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network