DVDproject in PAL/NTSC/SECAM at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 7th, 2004, 06:37 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 143
DVDproject in PAL/NTSC/SECAM

I have a completely finished PAL DVD-project made in DVD SP2, containing movies, menus and transistions.

My customer wants this DVD in NTSC and SECAM versions also.
How do I do this? I know that DVD SP2 can handle NTSC, so I could get my movies converted from PAL to NTSC and then make a new SP2 NTSC-project for this version. But what about the SECAM version??
SP2 can't handle SECAM...
Any suggestions on how to solve this?

Bjorn
__________________
x
Bjørn Sørensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 03:09 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There is no SECAM DVD. All SECAM DVD's are to the best of my
knowledge in PAL. The players might have SECAM out. If you look
at the technical detailso n PAL vs. SECAM you will see they are
very very close. There are some frequency / timing differences
that a DVD doesn't have anyway (it isn't analog!).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 04:03 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 143
Rob,

thank you for these informations.
So I will make a NTSC version only.

If I have my MPEG2 PAL video file converted to a MPEG2 NTSC video file and then use this as the video track in DVD SP3 (in a new NTSC-project), that would be the way to do it?
__________________
x
Bjørn Sørensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 04:15 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I can't help you with the PAL to NTSC conversion, sorry. Keep in
mind that you do need a PAL DVD for the Secam part of the world!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 05:19 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vimeiro - Portugal
Posts: 255
Yes. You can do it with Canopus Procoder.

Best regards,
Arnaldo
Arnaldo Paixao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 12:31 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
You may also want to consider Atlantis (an NTSC to PAL and back converter by www.dvfilm.com). There are others out there such as firestore DV Standards Converter at www.focusinfo.com. They may also be able to help you with your SECAM issues, but I am not certain. Let me know how it turns out .
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network