Premiere Pro 1.5 can't capture DV footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 24th, 2004, 05:18 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
Premiere Pro 1.5 can't capture DV footage

I just had Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5 installed in my system...
I have a Canopus ADVC1394 capture card installed on a P4 3.0GHz computer and a Panasonic NV-GS200 MiniDV camcorder...

In Premiere, I clicked Capture and couldn't get the play options to work...
Whether Device Control is enabled or not, I still couldn't get the images and sound displayed on my desktop...

What could be the problem?
My capture card or video camera is not supported by Premiere Pro 1.5?
FG Phua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 09:33 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I don't understand the "I still couldn't get the images and sound displayed on my desktop"

Is the ADVC1394 in the correct input mode?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 09:45 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : I don't understand the "I still couldn't get the images and sound displayed on my desktop"

Is the ADVC1394 in the correct input mode? -->>>

Sorry for not making myself clear...

What I meant was the preview...
I couldn't get the preview video and audio to work even though I've enabled them...
Either way, whether there's preview or not, I wasn't able to control the play/rewind/forward options to control my camera...
FG Phua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 09:50 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 75
Your going to have to give us more details. Are you using the 1394 connection on your camera or are you using the analog outputs on the camera and converting to digital using the ADVC1394?
-Cjh
Cliff Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 10:04 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
<<<-- Originally posted by Cliff Hepburn : Your going to have to give us more details. Are you using the 1394 connection on your camera or are you using the analog outputs on the camera and converting to digital using the ADVC1394?
-Cjh -->>>

I'm using a firewire connection between my miniDV video camera and computer...

After plugging my camera into my camera and turning it on, my computer's able to recognise it...
But Premiere failed to see my camera's existance...
FG Phua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 10:45 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 75
I ran into this problem once before and I fixed by making the camera connection with the computer before starting Premiere.
It's probably a bigger problem than that, but that's all I can think of right now.
Cliff Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2004, 11:04 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
<<<-- Originally posted by Cliff Hepburn : I ran into this problem once before and I fixed by making the camera connection with the computer before starting Premiere.
It's probably a bigger problem than that, but that's all I can think of right now. -->>>

I did connect the camera to my computer first and turned it on before I started Premiere...
But somehow it still doesn't work...
Sigh...
FG Phua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2004, 06:16 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Does it work in Windows Movie Maker?

Have you set your device control in Premiere?

Does Windows detect that the camera is conneced (It should apear as a device in my computer and also in device manager under imaging devices?

Thanks,

Ed
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network