Powerpoint in video's? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 21st, 2004, 11:45 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
Powerpoint in video's?

If I have a powerpoint show, is it possible to put it in vegas to include in video. Will it play with custom animations and such? How do I do this?
Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2004, 11:55 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
I don't know about animations, but you can export the PowerPoint as a series of images and import them for use that way.
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2004, 12:17 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
I am wanting to import the whole slideshow and have it play just as it would on a computer. It would look the same except it would be video.
Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2004, 01:45 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
Are there just transitions between slides? Or are you trying to duplicate in-slide animations such as sliding in text?

It sounds like you might just want to play the slideshow on your machine and have another application capture everything on your screen as a movie... I don't know of any off the top of my head for a PC, although I'm sure they are out there.
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2004, 02:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 428
There are a couple of programs out there that will do it.

Camtasia and Camstudio

Camstudio is free and I have used it a couple of times and it has worked well, basically just captures the screen at 30 frames per second and saves it off as an AVI file that you can import into your editing software.

Although after doing a quick search on the internet it looks like Macromedia has bought them out and it is no longer free???

http://www.macromedia.com/software/robodemo/
__________________
Toogood Studios
Jeff Toogood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2004, 07:50 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
YES sliding in text. Thanks for the info on cam studio. It looks like this will work. It is still availible for download as freeware at ver. 2.1

I don't know if this is the latest version or not but it will serve my purpose i belive.

Thanks fellas!
Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2004, 09:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: fort wayne, IN
Posts: 50
Chris,

Exactly where did you find a FREE download of Cam Studio?
Every link I found on the web pointed to macromedia and
I didn't find freeware on their site.

Thanks,

Joseph
Joseph Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2004, 12:42 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
Another option would be to play the PP through a box similar to this:

http://www.extron.com/product/product.asp?id=rgb109xi&subtype=1&view=desc

and record it in what ever format your working in. I use one similar to it for live productions. It feeds a switcher that allows me to feed PP or live cams to a projector.
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2004, 01:56 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
you know i just tried to repeat my google search and found nothing. i did get some info that free copies still availible may contain virus or somthing. sorry i cant remember site name, just clicked away no need to pay attention.
Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 11:48 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vimeiro - Portugal
Posts: 255
You can do it using a PC video card that has TV (video) out. Conect the video out to video in on your camera and record the Powerpoint slideshow. Capture that into your NLE and you'r set to go.

I'v done several times and works OK.

Best regards.
Arnaldo
Arnaldo Paixao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 02:36 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
I've found a site with CamStudio 2.1. You can get it at http://www.brothersoft.com/Multimedi...udio_3944.html.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 10:28 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 169
I used the demo of Camtasia found here:

http://www.techsmith.com/products/studio/default.asp

It's a full version that exports as an avi file. You can specify the codec, fps and capture area. Works very well. I didn't realize you coud customize the codec and fps until after my project so I don't know how well that works.
Jacob Ehrichs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network