How big (or how many) of a chromakey screen will I need? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2005, 05:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 53
How big (or how many) of a chromakey screen will I need?

How big (or how many) of a chromakey screen will I need to film in an outside location of about fourty people marching with the camera far enough away that on the computer I can edit them and make them an army of 800? Will I need chromakey screens covering the entire background or just where the actors are?
Drew Meinecke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2005, 05:08 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
What are you shooting with, what are you keying with.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2005, 05:30 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
depends the scene.
usually , you can imagine that if you only get 2 or 3 rows of people, you just need the shoulders and head of the last row having blue/green behind them ,you can glue it on their back :-)
When you get 3 rows of legs, usually you will not see trough and no keying is necessary at this level. The more compact your crowd is and the easier it will be.
usually it is more efficient and easier to add virtual people behind the first row than joining little group side by side. (but sometime you need to).
make a drawing of the final screen (you work directly on printed copy of shoot taken on location).
You can just outline the the limits of the zone that will be filled with real people and get an idea of where blue/green screen will be. do not hesitate to draw lines on the floor to help the people remember the limits.
another way is to cheat with spacing, so you do not need any blue screen. If you got an army of people going down the hill, you just need to shoot one row. then you can superimpose the same row , just leaving enough delay to make sure they do not overlap.
This works for a line of horses or cars going all at same speed.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2005, 06:38 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 53
<<<-- Originally posted by Richard Alvarez : What are you shooting with, what are you keying with. -->>>

Not quite sure what camcorder I'll be using, probably the Panasonic GS120, and I'll be editing with the Adobe Video Collection software (Is that what I use to key, I don't know anything about this)
Drew Meinecke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2005, 11:18 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
After Effects Pro has a decent keyer that comes on the CD and must be installed as an extra program. Keylight does a very nice job.

Keying in Premiere Pro isn't that great without third party plugins.
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network