Problem Uploading Footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 3rd, 2005, 08:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Problem Uploading Footage

I am uploading my video footage with an analog converter and it works fine except that it seems to upload the audio and video at a different frame rate. There is always more audio than video and if you match the lips up and the clip is long enough, the lips will be off again. I am using Vegas 5 to edit and upload. Can anyone help me out with this? Thanks

Mitch
Mitch Buss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 04:43 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Upload? I assume you mean capture?

Please give us some more information:

1) where is this analog footage coming from?

2) what kind of analog converter are you using?

Have you tried using other capture programs like www.scenalyzer.com
or AVI_IO (in case of an analog capture board)?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 07:04 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Yes I mean capture.

The footage is coming from a camcorder and I am not sure exactly what type of analog converter it is. I will check but is there anything else you can offer before I can check?

MITCH
Mitch Buss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 09:40 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
It looks like your sample rate settings are different than expected by software. I expect you camcorder recorded at 48khz and Vegas is assuming 32khz or 44.1khz for example. Check that the project settings are the same as the captured video/audio. IF you have an audio editor like SOund Forge you could resample the audio to match the project settings. Editing software counts the audio sample to line up with the video so if there are more or less samples the audio will not be in sync so the capture settings must be the same as the output from the camcorder.
Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 12:24 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
I don't know if this is normal, but when I am capturing the clip, as it is played, the audio is off already during capture. What should I do?

Mitch
Mitch Buss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2005, 08:15 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
What computer and what camcorder do you have and how( what cconnectors are you using ) capturing. When you play back the camcorder to a TV is everything in sync?

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network