Shooting to WME 9.0: switch multi LIVE sources? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2009, 08:03 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 103
Shooting to WME 9.0: switch multi LIVE sources?

Can WME 9.0 support switching between more than one live source while recording to disk?

I see it can switch between live and pre-recorded (files) sources, but haven't seen anything about switching between two live cameras.

I have two firewire cards in a PC -- if we can use WME as a get-by-for-now switcher, it'd be a Godsend!

I have an XP box with two FW cards, plus an ATI TV Wonder Pro -- in the past, we fed the ATi an svideo feed from a switcher--- 'switching' inside of WME would make for a much clearer picture!

Can this be done? Anyone used it like this? Computer has plenty of CPU power, RAM and a fast HD...
Ted Bragg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 09:20 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,117
Probably yes, but i do not really see the use. Either you switch out of WME several sources ( a small videonics mixer will be great) and use the encoder for what it is made for, or you can use it the way you say, but remember, it is streaming, so there is a several second delay between input and output, so as mixer it is pretty useless. And pushing the WME to its limit usually crash the machine, so i would not recommend this.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 05:47 AM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,502
Yes, it can be done

It can be done, but there are a couple of things you need to know.

First, for Windows to recognize more than one firewire camera is a hit and miss. Sometimes it would work, sometimes it won't; a reboot might help... or it may not. There is a piece of software from one of our members here at DVinfo (but I can't find it right now) that takes care of this and more - you can even record two SD streams simultaneously with it.

The second caveat is: there will be a short glitch when switching between the two cameras. I've done this for about a year for live transmissions from my church, until we bought the Datavideo switcher.
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network