How can I trim raw DV files without re-rendering? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2005, 12:47 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston TX and New Orleans LA
Posts: 300
How can I trim raw DV files without re-rendering?

I just captured a video from my cam...

Only 10 mins is actually video

but the software captured 60mins

How can I cut up that raw DV file... without having to re-render?

thanks everyone
Brent Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 05:02 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
1. you could just capture the 10 minute piece

2. any serious NLE (edit software) should "cut" that file instead of re-render it (as long as you don't change anything, like add cross fades or go from interlaced to progressive etc.)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 08:11 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
However... just about all programs do "non destructive editing" which means the file you captured is not actually changed when you cut something out. So sure, you can cut out the part you don't want but it won't save you any room on your disk. That unwanted 50 minutes is going to eat up around 10GB of space on your hard drive. If that's a problem then you will probably need to manually remove the capture file at the OS level.

It's generally a good idea to "babysit" the capture process just to prevent this sort of problem, or you will soon find that your hard drive is full! The best solution at this point would most like be removing the existing file and re-capturing the 10 minute section you actually want, as Rob suggests.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 10:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ontario
Posts: 445
What NLE are you using? Most allow you to " trim " the source clip.
Jack Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 11:49 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
iMovie lets you do what you propose, but it uses the DV stream format which (I believe) allows it to happen.
In iMovie, you can split a clip anywhere and then trash that clip and actually delete it off your hard drive.

In the other editing programs I've seen, I think the quickest way is to render the footage out. This is faster than re-capturing.

In all editing programs, you should be able to make a sub-clip, delete the original media, and capture just the subclip.

Scenalyzer may speed up your workflow if you are capturing from analog (optical scene detection!!!), or want to index a tape first (at high speed) and then just capture what you want. Great program.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network