Anyone getting blank screens when playing back .movs with QT7? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2005, 02:48 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Anyone getting blank screens when playing back .movs with QT7?

Hi guys. I just updated to QT7 and I've since been noticing that often when I play a mov (Streaming from the net mainly) that it plays, with audio but I get no video. If I grab the timeline cursor and scrub a little, video appears and then I can usually play OK when I let go. It's getting really annoying! Anyone had the same problem? Have a fix?

Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2005, 07:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 226
most likely the file were encoded with a new version. try updating it with the latest version.

ed
Ed Liew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2005, 02:57 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
Any chance you have DiVX codecs installed? Supposedly they can cause a conflict with some videos in odd ways. Most likely NOT your issue though. Take a look at your settings in QT as well to make sure your connection settings are realistic for your internet connection.
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2005, 03:22 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Thanks Mark. I don't think I have a DivX codec on this machine, no. I just checked my Quicktime settings and they were for "Automatic" so I'll change those to something specific and see how I go.

Cheers
Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2005, 01:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kuwait, Kuwait
Posts: 100
this happened to me when trying to play a movie located on the harddisk, using QT 6.5! I get a black screen (but i can hear the sound). The picture will reappear after scrubbing the timeline.
I didn't spend much time to solve this problem, coz I rarely play movies directly from QuickTIme player.
Nawaf Alali is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network