camera to avi/mpg which format at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 21st, 2002, 10:12 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: kincardine ontario canada
Posts: 19
camera to avi/mpg which format

I have just purchased the canon XL1s and using premiere 6.5 I'm surprised that the output is *.avi .I thought by now there would be a better output (smaller in size)The results are good and I'm making VCD's that work in the home dvd players which is what i wanted but the file size is huge.Is this what other people are doing.my goal is to be able to archive all my videos to cd and a format that anyone can play .
Also has anyone been able to bring the dv signal from the computer back to the camera as an insert(video)
The canon xls1 in the vcr mode is looking for a dv signal ,could that come from the computer.
stankern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2002, 10:41 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
The avi extension is just a wrapper for the DV format. You will have to compress it down using one of the various codecs if you want to reduce the file sizes.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2002, 05:20 AM   #3
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Most camcorders do not support insert editing. Many of the stand alone decks do support insert editing, just depends on the price point.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2002, 08:34 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
If you want more on a disc, go for DVDR recording. If you only need VCD quality you get 3hrs and more on a disc. On the insert issue, as far as I know all DV camcorders perform perfect inserts, due to the DV recording principle itself. No erase heads, perfect tracking.
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2002, 08:45 AM   #5
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Frame accuracy is terrible, usually +/- 25 frames and it's inconsistent. It's extremely frustrating not being able to edit on your mark. I wouldn't recommend it. Some camcorders do not support DV in.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2002, 09:13 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Agree Jeff on the accuracy, if the computer NLE is not being tuned for the specific camcorder.(transmit pauze time/record pause time/delay record time). I tought the question related to whether or not a signal coming from a computer could be inserted in a DV recorder(camcorder).
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network