Time Lapse Photo Editing in to Video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2010, 06:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
Time Lapse Photo Editing in to Video

Ok, so I am doing some more Time lapse stuff with my D60 and I can't find a good system for turing it into a video. Does anyone have any software they use to create a video from lets say... 600 photos?

I know one option is QT Pro for $30, but anyone have any other way? I would love to do it in Premiere, but I am not going to spend the time scaling and shortening clips down to 1 or 2 frames...

P.s. Yes I know I can use the Stop Motion feature built into the D60 but it only goes to 100 frames and is not all that quick of a system.
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 05:53 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
I use QT Pro, but can't you set your still pic import size to 1 frame in your import prefs in Premiere?
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 08:11 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
It is hard to come up with an easier way to deal with timelapse than treating jpg's as a sequence in Quicktime Pro. Personally i use After Effects to make my shots and then edit them in Final Cut. Don't know what Premier lets you do but you want to import them as a sequence if it let's you so you treat the import as one clip. You can check out some of this on Vimeo
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 08:19 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Another option is Videomach
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 09:22 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Videomach looks interesting but we are talking about someone who doesn't want to pay $30 extra for QT Pro correct?
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 10:34 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
How about putting all 600 frames on your timeline, then just speed it up?
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 11:15 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
Warren, Thats a possibility too... but they would all need to be one video in order to speed them all up.


Daniel, I don't mind paying for QT but I would just prefer to get a free app if possible. I got my shutter release software for free so I thought there might be a matching editing software out there...

I might just go with the QT install...
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2010, 12:17 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 256
Premiere does this quite easily.

1. Place all the pictures you want to make a movie out of into a folder on your hard drive
2. Make sure all the stills are numbered sequentially
3. In Premiere select 'file' then 'import'
4. Navigate to the folder that contains the files you want to import
5. Check the 'numbered stills' box at the bottom of the import window
6. Select the first picture
7. Select 'open'

All the stills will be imported as a targa sequence, with each picture one frame in duration.

Scale the video to fit the frame as desired.

Adjust the speed of the video as desired. A 600 frame video at 30 frames per second will naturally be 20 seconds long.

I hope this is what you were trying to do.
Lloyd Coleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2010, 12:17 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
Awesome!

Thanks Lloyd!
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2010, 07:49 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Great LLoyd, Premier works very similarly to After Effects and Quicktime Pro. As one would expect.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network