NTSC capture in PAL land at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 5th, 2010, 07:30 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 47
NTSC capture in PAL land

Hi

I edit with Adobe Premiere Pro 2. It works for me. My son is visiting from the US. He has brought his NTSC Sony DCR-HC52. He wants me to edit his holiday footage. Here is a clip http://www.howardneill.com/video/S 101.AVI Does it look like a normal NTSC clip to you?

This is what it looks like on the timeline. PP2 indicates that the clip requires rendering. That is not the case when I capture PAL clips. The clips looked fine during capture. Now, they look as though they do not fill the screen on the playback monitor.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Kindest regards


.
Attached Thumbnails
NTSC capture in PAL land-ntsc.jpg  
__________________
Howard
http://www.mfneill.com/ - Cape Town - where two oceans meet
Howard Neill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 12:25 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
It looks like your source clips are either 4x3 or interpreted as 4x3 by PremPro, while your project setting is 16x9.

You need to either change your project settings or interpret correctly the clip.

[By the way, there is nothing wrong with version 2 - if it works for you... no need to apologize].
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 12:51 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 47
Thanks Ervin.

It is morning here. I will have another go, at capturing the hour long tape. Before capture, I set my project for NTSC widescreen 48 kHz. I thought that the capture would have logically followed in widescreen

I am very happy with PP2. It is a workhorse and doesn't crash. We still use SD cameras. I suppose that will change within the next year?

Cheers


.
__________________
Howard
http://www.mfneill.com/ - Cape Town - where two oceans meet
Howard Neill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 01:27 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
You don't need to capture again; just go to the file and 'interpret' it as 16x9 (or pixel aspect ratio 1.2 instead of 0.9).
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 02:14 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 47
Thanks Ervin

I did that. Problem solved. Thanks for your help.

Cheers


.
Attached Thumbnails
NTSC capture in PAL land-ntsc-1.2.jpg  
__________________
Howard
http://www.mfneill.com/ - Cape Town - where two oceans meet
Howard Neill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network